Jump to main content


Ulster Squad Named For Cardiff Clash

Ulster Squad Named For Cardiff Clash

A tough final home game of the 2008/09 Magners League season lies ahead for Ulster this Friday night as they take on Welsh side Cardiff Blues at Ravenhill (kick-off 7.30pm).

Ulster coach Matt Williams has named a 24-man squad to take on the EDF Energy Cup champions Cardiff, as they were crowned at Twickenham last Saturday with an impressive 50-12 defeat Gloucester.

Williams has made two changes to the squad he named to face Glasgow Warriors last time out at Firhill, where the province claimed a tense one-point victory.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Ireland ‘A’-capped lock Ed O’Donoghue returns to the squad from injury, bolstering the Ulster line out, while Ulster Development player Daniel Roache has dropped out of the panel.

Adding to the excitement, the RBS 6 Nations and Triple Crown trophies, won so memorably by Ireland last month, will be on view at Ravenhill on Friday.

ULSTER Squad (v Cardiff Blues): Backs (11) – Darren Cave, Simon Danielli, Ian Humphreys, Paul Marshall, Timoci Nagusa, Niall O’Connor, Clinton Schifcofske, Andrew Trimble, Paddy Wallace, Ian Whitten, Isaac Boss.

Forwards (13) – Rory Best, BJ Botha, Nigel Brady, Ryan Caldwell, Tom Court, Robbie Diack, Ed O’Donoghue, Carlo Del Fava, Stephen Ferris, Chris Henry, Matt McCullough, David Pollock, Bryan Young.