Jump to main content


Ulster Squad Announced For Glasgow Tie

Ulster Squad Announced For Glasgow Tie

Ulster coach Matt Williams has named a 26-man squad for Saturday’s Magners League game against Glasgow Warriors at Ravenhill (kick-off 7.30pm).

Four match points and two positions currently separate Ulster and Glasgow in the Magners League table, ahead of the Celtic rivals’ clash in Belfast this weekend.

This is a crucial encounter in the scheme of both teams’ seasons. Ulster need to move back up the table, while Glasgow will endeavor to tightly secure their mid-table position ahead of Scottish counterparts Endinburgh.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Looking ahead to Saturday’s game, Ulster coach Matt Williams said: “I was very unhappy with our last performance (against the Dragons). We cannot talk our way out of it, or make excuses for how we played.

“I have told the players that the only thing we can do, is act our way out of it on Saturday. We need a performance against Glasgow, and nothing but 100% will do.

“Our focus is to take back the points we lost against Dragons, and show what we are really capable of.

“This will be a week of solid match preparation. The players all know that they have to stand up and perform come Saturday, this is it.”

Back from his man-of-the-match performance for Scotland against Italy in the RBS 6 Nations, Simon Danielli will bolster the Ulster back-line, while Ireland front rowers Tom Court and Rory Best have been released from Irish squad duty for the province’s latest league outing.

Robbie Diack and Paul Steinmetz were both not considered due to injury, while Paddy Wallace and Stephen Ferris are unavailable as they are training this week with the Irish squad in Cork. 

ULSTER Squad (v Glasgow Warriors): Backs (13) – Simon Danielli, Darren Cave, Andrew Trimble, Cillian Willis, Niall O’Connor, Clinton Schifcofske, Ian Whitten, Isaac Boss, Thomas Anderson, Ian Humphreys, Mark McCrea, Bryn Cunningham, Timoci Nagusa.

Forwards (13) – Justin Fitzpatrick, Nigel Brady, Tom Court, BJ Botha, Bryan Young, Ed O’Donoghue, Matt McCullough, Kieron Dawson, Carlo Del Fava, Chris Henry, David Pollock, Rory Best, Ryan Caldwell.