Jump to main content


Ulster Announce Extended Squad For Dragons Duel

Ulster Announce Extended Squad For Dragons Duel

Ulster coach Matt Williams has named a 25-man squad for the province’s Magners League encounter with the Newport Gwent Dragons at Rodney Parade on Sunday (kick-off 4.10pm).

The confirmed squad sees a return to Ulster for prop Tom Court, who has been temporarily released from Ireland’s RBS 6 Nations squad for this weekend’s game.

Darren Cave, Andrew Trimble, Mark McCrea, Isaac Boss, Ian Humphreys, Ryan Caldwell and Ed O’Donoghue are all back on provincial duty after featuring for Ireland ‘A’ in their win over Scotland ‘A’ last week. 

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Chris Henry remains in the province’s senior squad, after his recent performances in the Heineken Cup, alongside Phoenix Ulster Rugby Academy star Ian Whitten.

Cillian Willis, back on form and recovered from injury, has also made the cut.

Meanwhile, Carlo Del Fava and Simon Danielli have been released from international duty with Italy and Scotland respectively, for the clash with the Dragons.

Not eligible for selection are Paddy Wallace, Rory Best and Stephen Ferris who remain in camp with Ireland in preparation for their next RBS 6 Nations game against England on Saturday week.

Ulster currently sit one bonus point ahead of the Dragons in the Magners League table.

With both sides having won four and lost six of their league games this season, this is a must-win clash for Matt Williams’ men.

Match tickets for Ulster’s next home match in the league against Glasgow on Saturday, March 7 are currently on sale from the Ravenhill Ticket Office.

ULSTER Squad (v Newport Gwent Dragons): Backs (12) – Simon Danielli, Darren Cave, Andrew Trimble, Cillian Willis, Niall O’Connor, Clinton Schifcofske, Ian Whitten, Isaac Boss, Paul Steinmetz, Ian Humphreys, Mark McCrea, Bryn Cunningham.

Forwards (13) – Justin Fitzpatrick, Nigel Brady, Tom Court, BJ Botha, Bryan Young, Ed O’Donoghue, Matt McCullough, Kieron Dawson, Carlo Del Fava, Chris Henry, David Pollock, Stuart Phillpott, Ryan Caldwell.