Jump to main content


Leinster ‘A’ Lose Out To Edinburgh

Leinster ‘A’ Lose Out To Edinburgh

Michael Cheika watched on from the terrace as the Leinster ‘A’ team went down 15-14 to their Edinburgh counterparts at Old Belvedere’s Anglesea Road ground on Friday.

Edinburgh ‘A’ were able to win the try count 2-1 and this was decisive given the reasonable accuracy from centre Fergus McFadden, whose three penalties gave Leinster ‘A’ a 9-5 lead on the half-hour.

The concession of a penalty and converted try either side of the break gave Edinburgh’s reserves the impetus to hold out despite full-back Niall Morris’ 75th-minute try.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

LEINSTER ‘A’: Niall Morris; Gary Brown, Kyle Tonetti, Fergus McFadden, Simon Keogh; Paul O’Donohoe, Chris Keane; Ronan McCormack, Brian Blaney, Jamie Hagan, Cameron Jowitt, Conor McInerney, Kevin McLaughlin, Paul Ryan, Stephen Keogh (capt).

Replacements used: David Moore for Keane (44 mins), Shane Monahan for Brown, Jason Harris-Wright for Blaney, Eoin Sheriff for McInerney (all 51). Not used: Stephen Knoop, Eoin Cremin, James Power.