Jump to main content


Pollock To Captain Ulster In Paris

Pollock To Captain Ulster In Paris

Ulster coach Matt Williams has named his team to take on Stade Francais in Saturday’s Heineken Cup Pool 4 encounter at Stade Jean Bouin (kick-off 1.35pm Irish time/2.35pm local time).

Young flanker David Pollock will captain the Ulster side against Stade Francais, which will mean Kieron Dawson starts in Paris on the bench.

A number of rotational changes, aimed to give younger players more Heineken Cup experience, sees Ian Whitten replace Paddy Wallace, Niall O’Connor back at out-half in place of Ian Humphreys and Paul Marshall joining him at half-back.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Isaac Boss drops to the bench to provide scrum half cover, while Paul Steinmetz has replaced the rested Darren Cave in the centre.

In the forwards, Bryan Young has been called up in place of the benched Tom Court. Young will be joined in the front row by Nigel Brady and BJ Botha, who is back fully fit after missing Ulster’s fine win over Harlequins last weekend.

Matt McCullough also steps in for Stephen Ferris, who is currently on the province’s injury list along with regular captain Rory Best and influential centre Paddy Wallace.

Notably, Chris Henry, who made his tournament debut against ‘Quins, has held onto the number 8 jersey for the trip to France.

Previewing Saturday’s clash, Ulster coach Matt Williams commented: “I’ve won in France and I’ve lost in France. It’s not about history, it’s about attitude.

“This talk that Ulster have never won in France, well we’ve just won in Limerick and we hadn’t done that for a long time.

“It’s irrelevant what’s gone before and it’s the attitude that the players take into the game.

“If they can take the attitude that they have taken into games so many times this year, both home and away, into the Paris game they’re in with a good shot.”

Stuart Philpott, Willie Faloon and Rob Dewey have all been recalled to the Ulster squad for the Stade tie, gaining places on the bench.

ULSTER (v Stade Francais): Clinton Schifcofske; Andrew Trimble, Paul Steinmetz, Ian Whitten, Simon Danielli; Niall O’Connor, Paul Marshall; Bryan Young, Nigel Brady, BJ Botha, Ed O’Donoghue, Ryan Caldwell, Matt McCullough, David Pollock (capt), Chris Henry.

Replacements: Stuart Philpott, Tom Court, Kieron Dawson, Willie Faloon, Rob Dewey, Isaac Boss, Mark McCrea.