Jump to main content


Williams Picks 24-Man Ulster Panel

Williams Picks 24-Man Ulster Panel

Ulster coach Matt Williams has named a 24-man squad ahead of Saturday’s Heineken Cup Pool 4 tussle with Stade Francais at Stade Jean Bouin (kick-off 1.35pm Irish time/2.35pm local time).

Matt Williams has made a number of rotational changes from the 22-man squad that defeated Harlequins at Ravenhill last week.

The switches will aim to provide a number of younger Ulster players with further exposure at Heineken Cup level. There are returns for Stuart Philpott, Declan Fitzpatrick, Niall O’Connor and Rob Dewey.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Speaking about his squad selection, Williams commented: “It was a hard one. There are a lot of guys in the squad who are putting their hands up week after week, and saying they are ready and want to be given a chance.

“Take Chris Henry, he has been asking me for his chance to start and against ‘Quins he got it and played tremendously.

“Players like Ian Whitten and Willie Faloon are saying to me they want to have a go. They have really fought hard for their chance to start, and Saturday’s match may just be that chance.

“We will look at things over the next few training days and then make our final a decision.”

Darren Cave, Paddy Wallace, Ian Humphreys, Rory Best, Justin Fitzpatrick and Stephen Ferris have all being rested for the trip to Paris.

BJ Botha, who missed the Harlequins match due to illness, has returned to full health ahead of this Saturday’s game.

But Timoci Nagusa, Carlo Del Fava, Robbie Diack, Cillian Willis and Thomas Anderson are unavailable for selection due to injury.

ULSTER Squad (v Stade Francais): Backs (11) – Clinton Schifcofske, Bryn Cunningham, Niall O’Connor, Andrew Trimble, Ian Whitten, Paul Marshall, Isaac Boss, Paul Steinmetz, Rob Dewey, Mark McCrea, Simon Danielli.

Forwards (13) – Bryan Young, Stuart Philpott, Declan Fitzpatrick, Nigel Brady, Tom Court, BJ Botha, Ed O’Donoghue, Matt McCullough, Kieron Dawson, David Pollock, Chris Henry, Willie Faloon, Ryan Caldwell.