Jump to main content


Dawson To Lead Ulster In Limerick

Dawson To Lead Ulster In Limerick

Ulster coach Matt Williams has named his side to travel to Limerick to take on Munster in the Magners League at a sold-out Thomond Park Stadium on Saturday (kick-off 7.30pm).

The Ulster starting line-up shows four changes to the one which started last weekend’s 21-13 defeat to Leinster at Ravenhill.

Clinton Schifcoske replaces Bryn Cunningham at full-back in the only change to the back-line.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Up front, Tom Court and Kieron Dawson have been preferred to Justin Fitzpatrick and David Pollock at loosehead prop and openside flanker respectively.

Club captain Rory Best is rested this weekend, so Nigel Brady has been promoted from the replacements bench to the starting hooker berth and Stuart Philpott will provide cover for him. 

Former Ireland international Dawson will captain the team and is ready to lead by example.

“I’ve said to the players a few times that the senior players in the squad have got to lead the rest of them,” he said.

“At the end of the day we are Ulster and we are going down to do a job against Munster and we have got to believe in ourselves.

“I’m looking forward to playing in a great stadium against a great side, running yourself into the ground and sitting in the changing rooms being able to look each other in the eye afterwards.”

ULSTER (v Munster): Clinton Schifcoske; Andrew Trimble, Darren Cave, Paddy Wallace, Timoci Nagusa; Ian Humphreys, Isaac Boss; Tom Court, Nigel Brady, BJ Botha, Matt McCullough, Ed O’Donoghue, Stephen Ferris, Kieran Dawson (capt), Robbie Diack.

Replacements: Stuart Philpott, Justin Fitzpatrick, Filo Paulo, David Pollock, Paul Marshall, Paul Steinmetz, Bryn Cunningham.