Jump to main content


Leinster Alter Team For Connacht Showdown

Leinster Alter Team For Connacht Showdown

The Leinster team to face Connacht in Friday night’s Magners League derby meeting at the RDS (kick-off 7.30pm) has been named.

Simon Keogh, a late try scorer against Ulster last week, will start against Connacht on the left wing with Rob Kearney moving to full-back.

Felipe Contepomi, who kicked 11 points in the win over Ulster, will continue his centre partnership with Luke Fitzgerald.

Meanwhile, in the pack, Shane Jennings has recovered from injury to take his place at openside flanker, while Stephen Keogh and Cameron Jowitt also come into the starting line-up, with Devin Toner and Jamie Heaslip making way.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Leinster’s final list of replacements, which could include Ireland captain Brian O’Driscoll and Ireland’s most-capped player Malcolm O’Kelly, will be confirmed closer to kick-off.

Tickets for Friday’s interpro tie can be purchased on the Leinster Rugby website and discounted tickets may still be available from the Leinster Rugby Store and Spar Donnybrook.

Tickets will also be on sale from the Ticketmaster box office on Simmonscourt Road and Anglesea Road from 5pm on matchday.

LEINSTER ( v Connacht): Rob Kearney; Gordon D’Arcy, Luke Fitzgerald, Felipe Contepomi, Simon Keogh; Isa Nacewa, Chris Whitaker (capt); Cian Healy, John Fogarty, Stan Wright, Trevor Hogan, Cameron Jowitt, Rocky Elsom, Shane Jennings, Stephen Keogh.

Replacements (from): Brian Blaney, Ronan McCormack, Malcolm O’Kelly, Devin Toner, Sean O’Brien, Jamie Heaslip, Chris Keane, Jonathan Sexton, Shane Horgan, Brian O’Driscoll.