Jump to main content


Connacht Select Squad For Leinster Trip

Connacht Select Squad For Leinster Trip

Connacht have announced a 25-man squad for their Magners League derby clash with Leinster at the RDS on Friday night (kick-off 7.30pm).

With injury concerns over Ray Ofisa, Gavin Duffy and Colm Rigney, Connacht coach Michael Bradley has called up Fionn Carr, David Gannon and John Lyne to the squad.

The Connacht starting line-up and replacements will be announced on the Connacht website at noon on Thursday.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Looking forward to the game, Bradley said: “This will be a big test for us as Leinster will be out for revenge after our victory over them at the Sportsground earlier this season.

“Sunday’s win over Munster was great. It was long overdue but we have moved on from it the same way that we do not dwell too long on a defeat. There is no point in resting on one victory.”

Connacht captain John Muldoon added: “We have to make the Munster win a stepping stone. There is no point sitting back going up to Leinster and letting them throw a load of points on us.

“We need to build on this and find the consistency away from home to match our home form.”

CONNACHT Squad (v Leinster): Backs (11) – Liam Bibo, Kieran Campbell, Fionn Carr, Mel Deane, Andy Dunne, Gavin Duffy, Ian Keatley, Keith Matthews, Frank Murphy, Troy Nathan, Niva Ta’auso.

Forwards (14) – Andrew Browne, Sean Cronin, Andrew Farley, Adrian Flavin, David Gannon, Ronan Loughney, John Lyne, Mike McCarthy, Robbie Morris, John Muldoon (capt), Ray Ofisa, Colm Rigney, Michael Swift, Brett Wilkinson.