Jump to main content


O’Gara And Munster Up For RTE Awards

O’Gara And Munster Up For RTE Awards

Ronan O’Gara and the Munster squad have been nominated for the RTE Sports Awards 2008, which will take place at O’Reilly Hall in UCD on Sunday, December 21.

Ronan O’Gara, who was recently named the Irish Rugby Writers’ Player of the Year, had a 2008 to remember as he helped steer Munster to their second Heineken Cup title in three seasons.

The tournament’s record points scorer had a pivotal role to play as the province overcame Gloucester, Saracens and Toulouse in the knock-out stages.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

O’Gara also put in some impressive displays for Ireland. He most recently kicked 12 points and set up Tommy Bowe’s try as the men in green beat Argentina 17-3 to secure eighth place in the IRB World Rankings and a more favourable World Cup draw.

Munster’s great achievement in lifting the Heineken Cup again has been acknowledged with a nod for the RTE Sports Team of the Year Award.

The province, now coached by Tony McGahan, currently top the Magners League table and also head Heineken Cup Pool 1. They drew incredible audience figures to RTE during their epic clash with the All Blacks at Thomond Park last month.

The RTE Sports Awards 2008 will be hosted by Michael Lyster, Darragh Maloney and Joanne Cantwell and will be broadcast live on RTE One (9.30pm) from UCD’s O’Reilly Hall, in association with the Irish Sports Council, on Sunday, December 21.

Live coverage will also be available on RTE.ie (Republic of Ireland only).

The gala awards ceremony will include a review of the sporting year and look back on the dramatic and memorable sporting moments of 2008.

On the night, a panel of well known Irish sports stars and analysts will reflect on the shortlists, debating the Irish sporting year that was.

The panellists will include former Munster and Ireland out-half Tony Ward.

The night’s awards will be RTE Sportsperson of the Year, RTE Sports Team of the Year and the RTE/Irish Sports Council’s Hall of Fame Award.

The nominees for the RTE Sportsperson of the Year Award are:

Padraig Harrington

Kenny Egan

Sean Cavanagh

Eoin Larkin

Ronan O’Gara

Jason Smyth

Aidan O’Brien

Brian Murphy

Katie Taylor

The nominees for the RTE Sports Team of the Year Award are:




Irish Amateur Golf Team

Cork Camogie Team