Jump to main content


Leinster ‘A’ Beaten By Bristol

Leinster ‘A’ Beaten By Bristol

The Leinster ‘A’ team were beaten by their Bristol counterparts at Clifton RFC on Monday afternoon, with the hosts running out 30-20 winners.

Despite leading 13-3 at one stage after a strong showing from out-half Jonathan Sexton, who chipped in with a try, the visitors succumbed to a disappointing defeat.

Another pleasing aspect though was that outside centre Gary Brown notched his second try in two games for Leinster ‘A’.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The Leinster ‘A’ scorers on the day were: Sexton (try, penalty and 2 conversions), Brown (try) and James Power (penalty).

Interestingly, former Ulster and Ireland centre Kevin Maggs captained the Bristol United side. He rejoined his hometown club from Ulster last year.

The Bristol United line-up also included ex-Leinster hooker David Blaney and familiar props in Peter Bracken (formerly of Munster and Connacht) and Ray Hogan (formerly of Connacht).

Adding to the intrigue, Hogan’s older brother Trevor lined out in the Leinster ‘A’ second row, while the Blaney brothers – Brian and David – duelled it out at hooker.

Leinster ‘A’ are next in action against the Ospreys ‘A’ side at Belfield (UCD RFC) next Friday (kick-off 3pm).

BRISTOL UNITED: Luke Arscott; Lee Robinson, Nick Scott, Kevin Maggs (capt), Anthony Elliott; Chris Ashwin, Sam Alford; Mark Irish, David Blaney, Peter Bracken, Dave Attwood, Josh Brown, Andrew Blowers, Redford Pennycook, James Phillips.

Replacements: Adam Bellamy, Ray Hogan, Rich Jenkins, Chevvy Pennycook, Haydn Thomas, Greg Barden, Mat Turner, Rory Murdoch

LEINSTER ‘A’: Ian Madigan; Shane Monahan, Gary Brown, Kyle Tonetti, Simon Keogh; Jonathan Sexton, Paul O’Donohoe; Jack McGrath, Brian Blaney, Jamie Hagan, Trevor Hogan, Eoin Sheriff, Conor McInerney, Sean O’Brien, Stephen Keogh (capt).

Replacements used: John Fogarty for Blaney, Chris Keane for O’Donohoe, James Power for Sexton (all 42 mins), Paul Ryan for O’Brien (51), Royce Burke-Flynn for McGrath (52), Jason Harris Wright for Hagan, Ian McKinley for McInerney (both 64).