Jump to main content


Munster Announce Squad For New Zealand Clash

Munster Announce Squad For New Zealand Clash

Munster have named a 23-man squad of players for next Tuesday’s 30th anniversary match against New Zealand at Thomond Park Stadium.

Munster coach Tony McGahan may be in a position to add to this initial squad if players become available after Ireland’s GUINNESS Series 2008 Test against the All Blacks on Saturday.

He explained: “Right now these are the players we have training at the moment while the autumn internationals are taking place.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

“Obviously those games take precedence and we have to just wait and see what the international management require in terms of players following on from the All Blacks game with another international to face into (against Argentina next week).”

Commenting on the situation regarding the release of Ireland players back to Munster, Ireland coach Declan Kidney said: “Because of the IRB World Ranking points…that they’re so important to us, Tony (McGahan) understands that as much as everybody else.

“We’ll just get through Saturday. I’ll be in touch between now and the weekend and talking through the different permutations and possibilities. But there won’t be anything definite until Sunday evening.”

MUNSTER Squad (v New Zealand): Backs (11) – Barry Murphy, Kieran Lewis, Brian Carney, Anthony Horgan, Doug Howlett, Lifeimi Mafi, Rua Tipoki, Paul Warwick, Jeremy Manning, Conor Murray, Mike Prendergast.

Forwards (12) – Federico Pucciariello, Timmy Ryan, Dave Ryan, Frankie Sheahan, Denis Fogarty, Donnacha Ryan, Mark Melbourne, James Coughlan, John O’Sullivan, Niall Ronan, Justin Melck, Billy Holland.