Jump to main content


Munster Enjoy Run-Out Against UL Bohs

Munster Enjoy Run-Out Against UL Bohs

Munster’s preparations for their clash with New Zealand next Tuesday, thrown into disarray when Harlequins withdrew from the planned tie at the Stoop, were rescued by UL Bohemians who provided the much-needed opposition on Tuesday night at Thomond Park.

Munster officials thought Harlwquins would provide the ideal preparation for the encounter with New Zealand but the Londonders had to cancel the day before Monday’s planned friendly, surprisingly citing an inability to field a team.

UL Bohemians, the club of Munster team manager Shaun Payne, stepped in to help out the province. They agreed to a game on Tuesday at short notice and gave a good account of themselves despite a final score-line of 31-12.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Payne said: “It was a really good run-out for us ahead of the New Zealand game and we are grateful to UL Bohs for accommodating us at such short notice.

“Bohs played really well and were well in touch with ten minutes to go.”

At that stage Munster led 17-12 but two late tries gave a respectable look to the final score-line.

Doug Howlett scored twice for Munster, as did Mark Melbourne with Academy player Dave Ryan scoring the province’s fifth try.

Paul Granelle and Tom Healy were the try scorers for UL Bohs.

Munster did not escape unscathed however, with Denis Hurley picking up a knee injury and Jeremy Manning suffering a thigh strain.

Hurley’s injury looks the more serious of the two but no prognosis has come through yet from the Munster camp.

Munster are expected to name their squad for the 30th anniversary game against New Zealand on Friday, with the final 22 due to be announced on Monday in Limerick.

MUNSTER (v UL Bohemians): Paul Warwick; Doug Howlett, Rua Tipoki, Lifeimi Mafi, Anthony Horgan; Jeremy Manning, Mike Prendergast; Federico Pucciariello, Doug Fogarty, Tim Ryan; Mick O’Driscoll (capt), Donnacha Ryan, James Coughlan, Niall Ronan, Denis Leamy.

Replacements. Frankie Sheahan, Dave Ryan, Mark Melbourne, Billy Holland, Conor Murray, Kieran Lewis, Denis Hurley.