Jump to main content


Trio Rested By Munster

Trio Rested By Munster

Team captain Paul O’Connell and key players John Hayes and Doug Howlett have been rested by Munster for Saturday’s Magners League clash with Ulster at Ravenhill (kick-off 7.35pm).

Munster coach Tony McGahan has named a 27-man squad for this weekend’s interprovincial derby against Ulster.

Paul O’Connell, John Hayes and Doug Howlett have all been rested for the trip north, while the injured Frankie Sheahan, Rua Tipoki and Tomas O’Leary have also been omitted from the squad.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Hooker Sheahan picked up an injury during Cork Constitution’s AIB League defeat to Young Munster at Temple Hill last Saturday.

Munster currently top the Magners League table on 22 points – three ahead of the Ospreys, who are in EDF Energy action this weekend.

MUNSTER Squad (v Ulster): Backs (12) – Jeremy Manning, Ronan O’Gara, Paul Warwick, Peter Stringer, Mike Prendergast, Anthony Horgan, Kieran Lewis, Keith Earls, Ian Dowling, Lifeimi Mafi, Barry Murphy, Denis Hurley.

Forwards (15) – Marcus Horan, Tony Buckley, Jerry Flannery, Denis Fogarty, Darragh Hurley, Federico Pucciariello, Donncha O’Callaghan, Mick O’Driscoll, Mark Melbourne, Donnacha Ryan, John O’Sullivan, Justin Melck, Alan Quinlan, James Coughlan, David Wallace.