Jump to main content


Leinster Name Squad For Wasps Clash

Leinster Name Squad For Wasps Clash

The Leinster squad to face London Wasps in Saturday’s Heineken Cup Pool 2 tie at the RDS (kick-off 5.30pm) has been named.

The try scorers from last weekend – Rocky Elsom, Felipe Contepomi, Brian O’Driscoll and Shane Horgan – are all included in the initial squad.

In all, there were three Heineken Cup debutants for Leinster last weekend – Elsom, Devin Toner and CJ Van Der Linde all started in the 27-16 victory over Edinburgh.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The team is for the Wasps game is set to be named on Friday afternoon.

Meanwhile, over 16,000 tickets have been sold for Saturday’s high profile clash and tickets are available from Spar (Donnybrook) as well as online through the Leinster Rugby website.

Supporters are encouraged to get to the ground early and take public transport (nearest DART station is Sandymount) because there are a number of other events around the RDS on Saturday.

There will be a ‘Family Day’ from 4pm inside the ground featuring the Canterbury Roadshow as well as live music in the Supporters Bar.

LEINSTER Squad (v London Wasps): Backs (11) – Chris Keane, Chris Whitaker, Jonathan Sexton, Luke Fitzgerald, Simon Keogh, Felipe Contepomi, Brian O’Driscoll, Gary Brown, Shane Horgan, Girvan Dempsey, Rob Kearney.

Forwards (16) – Cian Healy, Ronan McCormack, Bernard Jackman, John Fogarty, CJ Van Der Linde, Stan Wright, Leo Cullen, Trevor Hogan, Malcolm O’Kelly, Devin Toner, Rocky Elsom, Cameron Jowitt, Sean O’Brien, Shane Jennings, Jamie Heaslip, Stephen Keogh.