Jump to main content


Leinster Select Experienced Squad For Edinburgh Trip

Leinster Select Experienced Squad For Edinburgh Trip

The Leinster squad to face Edinburgh in Saturday’s opening Heineken Cup Pool 2 clash at Murrayfield (kick-off 1.35pm) has been named.

Leinster welcome back the likes of Ireland internationals Girvan Dempsey, Jamie Heaslip, Bernard Jackman, Shane Jennings, Brian O’Driscoll and Malcolm O’Kelly into the panel for Saturday’s game.

Shane Horgan, who is Leinster’s most-capped player in Heineken Cup history (with 63 appearances), is also included after impressing in recent weeks.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

And Felipe Contepomi will no doubt be looking to build on his impressive career tally of 284 points in 24 Heineken Cup appearances for Leinster.

Leinster are again expected to boosted by a sizable travelling support this weekend, with in excess of 1,000 supporters set to make the trip to the Scottish capital.

The team to face Edinburgh will be announced on Friday afternoon.

LEINSTER Squad (v Edinburgh): Backs (11) – Chris Keane, Chris Whitaker, Jonathan Sexton, Luke Fitzgerald, Simon Keogh, Felipe Contepomi, Brian O’Driscoll, Gary Brown, Shane Horgan, Girvan Dempsey, Rob Kearney.

Forwards (16) – Cian Healy, Ronan McCormack, Bernard Jackman, John Fogarty, CJ Van Der Linde, Stan Wright, Leo Cullen, Trevor Hogan, Malcolm O’Kelly, Devin Toner, Rocky Elsom, Cameron Jowitt, Sean O’Brien, Shane Jennings, Jamie Heaslip, Stephen Keogh.