Jump to main content


Leinster Name Squad For Ospreys Showdown

Leinster Name Squad For Ospreys Showdown

Leinster coach Michael Cheika has announced his extended squad for Friday’s Magners League showdown with the Ospreys at the RDS (kick-off 7.35pm).

Leo Cullen and Stan Wright have been named in the Leinster panel as they step up their rehabilitations after injury. Wright played more than an hour of last weekend’s 52-6 victory over Edinburgh, while Leinster skipper Cullen is close to a comeback after shoulder surgery.

There is a familiar look to the rest of the squad with Ireland stars Brian O’Driscoll, Shane Horgan, Bernard Jackman, Malcolm O’Kelly, Rob Kearney and Jamie Heaslip all included alongside Luke Fitzgerald who scored a hat-trick of tries against Edinburgh.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The province’s starting line-up and replacements will be confirmed on Thursday afternoon.

In excess of 12,500 tickets have been sold for Friday’s game and cash will be taken on the turnstiles on the night. Tickets for Friday’s tie as well as the next home game with Munster on Sunday, September 28, are still available on www.LeinsterRugby.ie.

LEINSTER Squad (v Ospreys): Backs (15) – Chris Whitaker, Chris Keane, Paul O’Donohoe, Jonathan Sexton, Felipe Contepomi, Brian O’Driscoll, Gary Brown, Shane Horgan, Luke Fitzgerald, Isa Nacewa, Fergus McFadden, Rob Kearney, Simon Keogh, Eoin O’Malley, Girvan Dempsey.

Forwards (17) – Cian Healy, Stephen Knoop, Ronan McCormack, Bernard Jackman, Brian Blaney, John Fogarty, Stan Wright, Cameron Jowitt, Malcolm O’Kelly, Leo Cullen, Devin Toner, Trevor Hogan, Stephen Keogh, Shane Jennings, Sean O’Brien, Kevin McLaughlin, Jamie Heaslip.