Jump to main content


Leinster Make Changes For Edinburgh

Leinster Make Changes For Edinburgh

The Leinster team to face Edinburgh in Friday night’s Magners League clash at the RDS (kick-off 7.30pm, Setanta Sports 1/2) has been named.

Stan Wright’s return to the front row is one of two changes in personnel to the starting pack that drew last weekend’s opening game of the season in Cardiff (16-16).

Trevor Hogan starts alongside Malcolm O’Kelly in the second row with Ronan McCormack moving to loosehead prop.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

In the back-line, Ireland duo Luke Fitzgerald and Girvan Dempsey come into a new back-three which again features Rob Kearney.

Brian O’Driscoll continues his centre partnership with Argentina captain Felipe Contepomi, with Jonathan Sexton again partnering skipper Chris Whitaker at half-back.

Shane Horgan and Isa Nacewa are named amongst a strong list of replacements alongside the likes of Cian Healy and John Fogarty.

Meanwhile, over 12,500 tickets have already been sold for Friday’s game and cash will be taken at the turnstiles. Tickets are also available from Spar (Donnybrook) and the Leinster Rugby Store.

LEINSTER (v Edinburgh): Girvan Dempsey; Luke Fitzgerald, Brian O’Driscoll, Felipe Contepomi, Rob Kearney; Jonathan Sexton, Chris Whitaker (capt); Ronan McCormack, Bernard Jackman, Stan Wright, Trevor Hogan, Malcolm O’Kelly, Cameron Jowitt, Shane Jennings, Jamie Heaslip.

Replacements: Cian Healy, John Fogarty, Devin Toner, Sean O’Brien, Chris Keane, Shane Horgan, Isa Nacewa.