Jump to main content


Leinster Choose Squad For Edinburgh Clash

Leinster Choose Squad For Edinburgh Clash

The Leinster squad to face Edinburgh in Friday’s Magners League meeting at the RDS (kick-off 7.30pm, Setanta Sports 1/2) has been named by coach Michael Cheika.

Leinster drew 16-16 with the Cardiff Blues last weekend and will open their home defence of the Magners League this Friday with the first of four meetings with Edinburgh this season.

The selected squad features 11 full Ireland internationals as well as 10 Ireland ‘A’ players, including Leinster and Ireland’s most-capped player Malcolm O’Kelly and the likes of Jamie Heaslip, Shane Horgan and Brian O’Driscoll.

Leinster are set to be boosted by attendance figures, with close to 10,000 season ticket holders already signed up for the province’s new campaign (up from 6,800 last year).

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Over 12,000 tickets have already been sold for Friday’s game and tickets are still available on www.leinsterrugby.ie.

The starting line-up and replacements will be revealed on Thursday afternoon.

LEINSTER Squad (v Edinburgh): Backs (15) – Chris Whitaker, Chris Keane, Paul O’Donohoe, Jonathan Sexton, Felipe Contepomi, Brian O’Driscoll, Gary Brown, Shane Horgan, Luke Fitzgerald, Isa Nacewa, Fergus McFadden, Rob Kearney, Simon Keogh, Eoin O’Malley, Girvan Dempsey.

Forwards (15) – Cian Healy, Stephen Knoop, Ronan McCormack, Bernard Jackman, Brian Blaney, John Fogarty, Cameron Jowitt, Malcolm O’Kelly, Devin Toner, Trevor Hogan, Stephen Keogh, Shane Jennings, Sean O’Brien, Kevin McLaughlin, Jamie Heaslip.