Jump to main content


Leinster Name Team For Greenday clash with Queensland

Leinster Name Team For Greenday clash with Queensland

The Leinster team to face the Queensland Reds in Saturday’s pre-season friendly in Donnybrook (KO: 6pm) has been named.

Brian O’Driscoll will partner Felipe Contepomi at centre in a strong backline which also includes Ireland stars Shane Horgan and Rob Kearney, both of whom will start on the wing.

Chris Whitaker captains the side and partners Jonathan Sexton at half-back, with Isa Nacewa set for his home debut at full back.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

In the pack, Jamie Heaslip starts at number eight in a backrow that features Shane Jennings and Cameron Jowitt.There are also places for Ireland’s most capped player Malcolm O’Kelly who lines up beside Devin Toner in the second row.

Ronan McCormack starts in the front row alongside Ireland hooker Bernard Jackman and Stephen Knoop.

Meanwhile, tomorrow’s game will have a ‘Greenday’ theme, which will also be Ireland’s first Carbon Neutral Rugby Match. Ecocem are to offset flights of Queensland team return, and the floodlights. For every try scored Ecocem will offset 17.5 tons (which is the average persons carbon emission), for every penalty/conversion scored Ecocem will offset 8 tons (which is the average houses carbon emission) and for every drop goal Ecocem will offset 4 tons (which is the average emission of a car). 

In order to reduce the impact on the environment of paper and the match programme will only be available via Bluetooth to your mobile. There will also be a bike park in operation within the ground for anyone travelling to the ground by bicycle. To mark the occasion Leinster will wear a specially commissioned green kit, while they will also walk to the ground in a further bid to further raise awareness.

Leinster will also be hosting a Farmers Market from 11am – 6pm on Saturday at the Bective End (and will be open to the general public from 11am-4.30pm).

In the region of 5,000 tickets have been sold and cash will be taken at the turnstiles. A limited number of Stand tickets are on sale from Spar (Donnybrook). 

Prices: Adult Terrace €;10, Adult Stand €;20, Child Terrace €;5, Child Stand €;10, Family Stand €;50, Family Terrace €;25

15: Isa Nacewa
14: Shane Horgan
13: Brian O’Driscoll
12: Felipe Contepomi
11: Rob Kearney
10: Jonathan Sexton
9: Chris Whitaker CAPTAIN

1: Ronan McCormack
2: Bernard Jackman
3: Stephen Knoop
4: Malcolm O’Kelly
5: Devin Toner
6: Cameron Jowitt
7: Shane Jennings
8: Jamie Heaslip

REPLACEMENTS FROM: Cian Healy, John Fogarty, Brian Blaney, Trevor Hogan, Sean O’Brien, Stephen Keogh, Kevin McLaughlin, Chris Keane, Paul O’Donohoe, Fergus McFadden, Luke Fitzgerald, Eoin O’Malley, Gary Brown, Simon Keogh, Girvan Dempsey