Jump to main content


Connacht Select Extended Squad For Cardiff Clash

Connacht Select Extended Squad For Cardiff Clash

Connacht coach Michael Bradley has chosen a 27-man squad for the province’s Magners League encounter with the Cardiff Blues at the Sportsground on Friday (kick-off 6.30pm).

Samoan brothers, Ray Ofisa and Ofisa Treviranus, are both included in the squad for the first time since before Christmas, having overcome their respective injuries.

The pair played very well in Connacht’s ‘A’ match against Russian side Enisei STM last week.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Another major boost for the westerners is the return of back rower Michael McCarthy, who has also been out for the last four weeks.

Players on Connacht’s injury list currently include backs John Hearty (hip), Conor O’Loughlin (shoulder) and Aidan Wynne (hamstring), as well as forwards John Lyne (hand), Brian McGovern (ankle), Joe Merrigan (ankle) and Michael Swift (kidney).

CONNACHT Squad (v Cardiff Blues): Backs (13) – Liam Bibo, Mel Deane, Gavin Duffy, Andy Dunne, Peter Durcan, Conor McPhillips, Keith Matthews, Matt Mostyn, Troy Nathan, Daniel Riordan, Robbie Shaw, Ofisa Treviranus, Darren Yapp.

Forwards (14) – Andrew Browne, Andrew Farley (capt), Adrian Flavin, John Fogarty, David Gannon, Ronan Loughney, Michael McCarthy, Kevin Moran, Robbie Morris, John Muldoon, Johnny O’Connor, Ray Ofisa, Colm Rigney, Brett Wilkinson.