Jump to main content


Foley Set For 200th Munster Cap

Foley Set For 200th Munster Cap

Munster’s 2006 Heineken Cup-winning captain Anthony Foley will become the first player to play 200 times for the province tomorrow night when he leads them out for their re-fixed Magners League clash with Ulster (kick-off 7.30pm).

For the trip to Belfast, Munster coach Declan Kidney has made just three changes in personnel to the side that accounted for the Ospreys last time out in the Magners League.

The one back-line change sees Peter Stringer return to the starting line-up where he will partner Paul Warwick at half-back, while up front there are four changes, two of them positional.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

With Donncha O’Callaghan omitted along with all those who started against Saracens in Sunday’s Heineken Cup semi-final, Donnacha Ryan slots into the second row alongside Mick O’Driscoll.

John O’Sullivan, who wore the number 7 jersey in an impressive display against the Ospreys, swiches to the blindside with Niall Ronan, recovered from a back strain, returning to the openside spot.

The side will be led at number 8 by Anthony Foley who will create history by becoming the first player to win 200 caps for Munster.

MUNSTER (v Ulster): Shaun Payne; Brian Carney, Barry Murphy, Kieran Lewis, Anthony Horgan; Paul Warwick, Peter Stringer; Federico Pucciariello, Frankie Sheahan, Tony Buckley, Donnacha Ryan, Mick O’Driscoll, John O’Sullivan, Niall Ronan, Anthony Foley (capt).

Replacements: Sean Cronin, Darragh Hurley, Mark Melbourne, James Coughlan, Gerry Hurley, Jeremy Manning, Keith Earls.