Jump to main content


Nominees Announced For Munster Player Of The Year Award

Nominees Announced For Munster Player Of The Year Award

John Hayes was last year’s winner, but just who will be crowned the 2007/08 Player of the Year at the upcoming Munster Rugby Awards? Read on to find out who are the four players nominated for the gong.

Lifeimi Mafi, Mick O’Driscoll, Ronan O’Gara and Alan Quinlan are the four players who are in contention for the top award at the 2007/08 Munster Rugby Awards.

The awards ceremony will take place on Saturday, May 10 at the Silversprings Moran Hotel in Cork.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Following the hugely successful inaugural event last year, the second Munster Rugby Awards, in association with the Irish Examiner, is expected to attract a large crowd, where all funds raised will go towards the running of and development of the Munster Rugby Academy.

The purpose of the awards is to recognise individual talents in the sport in Munster, as well as the achievements of clubs and schools on and off the pitch.

The gala evening celebrates the spirit of rugby in the province by encompassing both the professional and domestic game.

Eleven diverse categories will be honoured including the Munster Player and Young Player of the Year awards, while there will also be awards for up and coming Academy talent, women’s rugby, referees, schools and clubs.

The four nominees were selected by their fellow players in the squad and readers of the Irish Examiner will have the opportunity to cast their votes for their Player of the Year in the coming weeks.

The Munster Rugby Awards panel of judges will choose the overall winner, taking the Irish Examiner readers’ votes into consideration.

RTE Radio commentator Michael Corcoran will be the MC on the night, with a special appearance by the internationally acclaimed magician Keith Barry. 

Tables of 10 cost 3000 euro. There are a limited number of tables and bookings are being taken on a first come first served basis. Please contact Munster Rugby on tel: 021-4323563 or Michael O’Brien on tel: 087-2129999 for bookings.