Jump to main content


Leinster Name Extended Squad For Edinburgh Clash

Leinster Name Extended Squad For Edinburgh Clash

The Leinster squad for Friday’s Magners League encounter with Edinburgh at Murrayfield (kick-off 7.30pm) has been announced by coach Michael Cheika.

League leaders Leinster again include captain Brian O’Driscoll and a decision on his availability will be made when the team is announced on Thursday lunch-time.

Following his 18-point haul in the 21-12 victory over Munster, Felipe Contepomi is now just 19 points away from reaching the 1000-point mark for the province after 93 Heineken Cup and Magners League appearances.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The 30-year-old Argentina international contributed six penalties last weekend and is in second place in this year’s Magners League points scorers list (107 points), 16 points behind Glasgow’s Dan Parks.

In all, the Leinster panel includes 12 Ireland senior and six Ireland ‘A’ internationals. Bernard Jackman, last weekend’s man of the match, is one of seven Ireland forwards in the extended panel.

The team are expected to be boosted by several hundred travelling supporters to the Scottish capital for the Magners League showdown.

LEINSTER Squad (v Edinburgh): Backs (13) – Chris Keane, Chris Whitaker, Felipe Contepomi, Jonathan Sexton, Luke Fitzgerald, Rob Kearney, Michael Berne, Christian Warner, Brian O’Driscoll, Eoin O’Malley, Gary Brown, Shane Horgan, Girvan Dempsey/

Forwards (14) – Cian Healy, Ollie Le Roux, Brian Blaney, Bernard Jackman, Stephen Knoop, Stan Wright, Leo Cullen, Trevor Hogan, Malcolm O’Kelly, Cameron Jowitt, Stephen Keogh, Keith Gleeson, Shane Jennings, Jamie Heaslip.