Jump to main content


Leinster Make Two Changes For Munster Encounter

Leinster Make Two Changes For Munster Encounter

Leinster coach Michael Cheika has made two changes to his side for Saturday’s crunch Magners League tie with Munster (The RDS, kick-off 6.30pm), with Girvan Dempsey and Keith Gleeson the two new inclusions.

Hooker Bernard Jackman will make his 50th appearance for Leinster after being named in the starting line-up for the sell-out clash. (To listen to an audio interview with Jackman, click here).

Jackman is again joined in the front row by Ollie Le Roux and Stan Wright in a pack that shows one change from the eight that started the 24-10 success over the Llanelli Scarlets last time out.

Shane Jennings is joined by the returning Keith Gleeson in a back row which includes Bank of Ireland Player of the Month Jamie Heaslip. Stephen Keogh is the player replaced by Gleeson.

In the continued absence of Brian O’Driscoll, Leo Cullen is again named as captain and starts in the second row with fellow international Malcolm O’Kelly.

In the back-line, Girvan Dempsey returns at full-back after featuring as a second half replacement in the Stradey Park victory. He is an indirect replacement in the side for injury worry Michael Berne (ankle).

In a reshuffle of the backs, Ireland international Luke Fitzgerald lines up alongside Felipe Contepomi at centre, with Rob Kearney moving to the left wing and Shane Horgan continuing on the right wing. (To listen to an audio interview with Fitzgerald, click here). 

Chris Whitaker continues his half-back partnership with Jonathan Sexton.

The Leinster replacements bench will be confirmed an hour before kick-off.

As there are other events on at the RDS on Saturday, supporters are encouraged to take public transport where possible. There will also be a ‘Family Day’ with a Canterbury Roadshow, fun Tag rugby drills and other activities from 5pm behind the Anglesea Stand.

LEINSTER (v Munster): Girvan Dempsey; Shane Horgan, Luke Fitzgerald, Felipe Contepomi, Rob Kearney; Jonathan Sexton, Chris Whitaker; Ollie Le Roux, Bernard Jackman, Stan Wright, Leo Cullen (capt), Malcolm O’Kelly, Shane Jennings, Keith Gleeson, Jamie Heaslip.

Replacements (from): Brian Blaney, Cian Healy, Stephen Knoop, Trevor Hogan, Stephen Keogh, Chris Keane, Eoin O’Malley, Michael Berne, Gary Brown.