Jump to main content


Williams Makes Eight Changes To Ulster Team

Williams Makes Eight Changes To Ulster Team

Ulster coach Matt Williams has named his starting line-up for Saturday’s Magners League encounter with Munster (Musgrave Park, kick-off 7.30pm). In all, he has made eight changes to the side that beat Llanelli last month.

Back after their Six Nations stint, Ireland backs Tommy Bowe and Andrew Trimble will start for the province in Cork with Paddy Wallace partnering Trimble in midfield. Bryn Cunningham returns to the full-back slot with Australian Mark Bartholomeusz named on the left wing.

Former Methody pupil Paul Marshall is given the nod at scrum half, ahead of Isaac Boss, and will be relishing the chance to test himself against Irish international Peter Stringer. Rob Dewey also returns from injury and is named on the Ulster bench.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

In the forwards, Justin Fitzpatrick adds a hard edge to the front row alongside Ireland hooker Rory Best and Tom Court. Italian Carlo Del Fava partners Ryan Caldwell in the second row with Justin Harrison acting as cover on the bench.

The back row sees two changes from that win over the Scarlets with Neil Best starting and former Ireland Under-20 captain David Pollock has also been selected, alongside Stephen Ferris.

Commenting on his selected team, Williams said: “We have a good young side and we want to see how some of the younger players perform in a tough environment down in Munster. There is not a lot between any of the players but this is just an opportunity for them to come out and play.

“Training has been good this week, we had all the players back that we haven’t had in months. Trimble hasn’t been with the team for two months and Paddy, Tommy and Rory have only been with us for 48 hours before the last two games. Carlo is the same.

“So this week it has been about fitting a lot of our players into training. We have an injury to Simon Danielli so there has been a lot to do this week,” added the Australian, who expects Munster to be ‘a tough, hard and well organised outfit.’

ULSTER (v Munster): Bryn Cunningham; Tommy Bowe, Andrew Trimble, Paddy Wallace, Mark Bartholomeusz, Niall O’Connor, Paul Marshall; Justin Fitzpatrick, Rory Best (capt), Tom Court, Ryan Caldwell, Carlo Del Fava, Neil Best, David Pollock, Stephen Ferris

Replacements: Nigel Brady, Bryan Young, Justin Harrison, Matt McCullough, Isaac Boss, Rob Dewey, Mark McCrea.