Jump to main content


Ireland Players Return For Leinster

Ireland Players Return For Leinster

The Leinster team to face the Glasgow Warriors in Friday night’s Magners League clash at the RDS (kick-off 7.30pm) has been named.

In the Leinster front row, the province’s Bank of Ireland Player of the Month Ollie Le Roux partners Stan Wright and Bernard Jackman, who is one of six returning Ireland players from the recent Six Nations championship.

Chris Whitaker partners Felipe Contepomi at half-back, while Leo Cullen returns from injury to captain the side and links up with Malcolm O’Kelly in the second row.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Shane Horgan is named in a strong outside back-line alongside fellow Ireland stars Luke Fitzgerald and Rob Kearney, who is named at full-back.

Keith Gleeson, who recently announced his retirement from the game at the end of the current campaign, is named in the back row alongside Shane Jennings and Jamie Heaslip.

Two vacancies have been left on the replacements bench which will be confirmed closer to kick-off. But one player who has been included is Jonathan Sexton who also returns from a hand injury sustained away to Leicester in January.

Tickets are still on sale from Spar (Donnybrook), Leinster Rugby Store (inside the ground in Donnybrook) and online from http://www.leinsterrugby.ie/ while supporters can also purchase tickets from Ticketmaster outlets nationwide. Over 14,000 have been sold and tickets will be sold around the ground on the day.

LEINSTER (v Glasgow Warriors): Rob Kearney; Shane Horgan, Christian Warner, Michael Berne, Luke Fitzgerald; Felipe Contepomi, Chris Whitaker; Ollie Le Roux, Bernard Jackman, Stan Wright, Leo Cullen (capt), Malcolm O’Kelly, Shane Jennings, Keith Gleeson, Jamie Heaslip.

Replacements: Brian Blaney, Cian Healy/Stephen Knoop, Trevor Hogan, Stephen Keogh/Cameron Jowitt, Chris Keane, Jonathan Sexton, Gary Brown.