Jump to main content


Best To Lead Ulster Against Scarlets

Best To Lead Ulster Against Scarlets

New Ulster coach Matt Williams has named a 23-man squad for the province’s Magners League clash with Llanelli Scarlets at Ravenhill (kick-off 7.30pm) on Friday.

The Ulster captain’s arm band will return to hooker Rory Best, who returns from international duty along with Paddy Wallace, Carlo Del Fava and Simon Danielli.

Commenting on his squad selection, Matt Williams said: “It’s been a tough week with so many guys returning to training from international duty, but it’s great to be able to include the likes of Rory Best and Paddy Wallace in the squad. With the squad selection we’ve given some more players the opportunity to perform.”

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Roger Wilson is included in the squad for the first time since breaking his thumb at the end of November. The Ireland-capped back rower will be pleased to get the nod as his return to rugby was further hampered recently when he strained his right hamstring in training.

Also returning to the squad is Australian-born prop Tom Court. He has been drafted in for Declan Fitzpatrick who sustained an injury during the Ireland ‘A’ side’s heavy defeat to their Scottish counterparts.

Promenade and Terrace tickets are still available for the game. Tickets can be purchased from Ravenhill or from the Ulster Rugby ticket line on 028 9049 3222 (select option 2) or online at the Ulster Rugby website anytime.

Tickets can also be bought from various ticket outlet shops across the province: In Sport – Newtownards, SS Moore’s – Belfast, Athletic Stores – Belfast, Eden Park – Belfast, Euro Sport – Lisburn, Shoe Fair Sports – Banbridge, Style N Sport – Ballymena, Vi-Sport – Belfast, David Gotto All Sports – Belfast, Overplay Sports – Carrickfergus and Douglas & Grahame Ltd – Belfast.

ULSTER Squad (v Llanelli Scarlets): Forwards (13) – Justin Fitzpatrick, Bryan Young, Tom Court, Rory Best (capt), Nigel Brady, Justin Harrison, Ryan Caldwell, Carlo Del Fava, Matt McCullough, Neil Best, Kieron Dawson, Stephen Ferris, Roger Wilson.

Backs (10) – Mark Bartholomeusz, Simon Danielli, Bryn Cunningham, Mark McCrea, Darren Cave, Paul Steinmetz, Niall O’Connor, Paddy Wallace, Paul Marshall, Isaac Boss.