Jump to main content


Horgan In Leinster Squad To Play Cardiff Blues

Horgan In Leinster Squad To Play Cardiff Blues

Shane Horgan will be hoping to get some game-time for Leinster this weekend having been named in the province’s squad for the Magners League visit of Cardiff Blues to the RDS.

With no Six Nations action this weekend, the provinces return to Magners League action for the first time since the early January. Ireland winger Shane Horgan, who captained Ireland ‘A’ against England Saxons recently and was on the bench for the senior game against France, has been named in the Leinster squad to face Cardiff Blues on Saturday night.

This is a crucial game for both sides. Leinster, in first place on 33 points, are five points clear of Cardiff in second and the league remains their only chance of silverware this season.

Leinster have named a strong squad which inlcudes other Ireland sqaud members in Cian Healy and Leo Cullen. Leinster are further boosted by the return from injury of Australia international scrum-half Chris Whitaker who has been missing since the middle of November. There are first call-ups to the squad for Leinster Academy duo Felix Jones and Ian Keatley, both of whom featured in last season’s Ireland Under-20 Grand Slam side.

Meanwhile, over 14,000 tickets have been sold for Saturday’s game which will have a special ‘Ladies Night’ theme with proceeds of a pre and post match reception inside the ground on the day going to Action Breast Cancer.

There will be a champagne reception, live music, post-match player appearances, special prizes and a Nivea gift bag for supporters attending on the night. Magners will also be providing the Main Prize of the evening of a trip for two for the ‘Best Dressed’ Lady to Leinster’s Magners League game in Edinburgh this April.

Match tickets are on sale now from http://www.leinsterrugby.ie/


Forwards (13): Cian Healy, Ollie Le Roux, Ronan McCormack, Brian Blaney, Stephen Knoop, Stan Wright, Leo Cullen, Trevor Hogan, Cameron Jowitt, Stephen Keogh, Keith Gleeson, Shane Jennings, Kevin McLaughlin.

Backs (11): Chris Keane, Chris Whitaker, Felipe Contepomi, Ian Keatley, Christian Warner, Michael Berne, Luke Fitzgerald, Gary Brown, Shane Horgan, Felix Jones, Ross McCarron.