Jump to main content


Leinster Name Preliminary Squad For Trip To Tigers

Leinster Name Preliminary Squad For Trip To Tigers

The extended Leinster squad for Saturday’s crucial Heineken Cup Pool 6 clash with Leicester Tigers (Welford Road, kick-off 3.30pm) has been named.

Shane Horgan and Ollie Le Roux are both named in the expanded panel as they bid to overcome injury in time for the must-win match against last season’s Heineken Cup runners-up.

Ireland duo Gordon D’Arcy and Malcolm O’Kelly, who both joined Victor Costello on 136 Leinster appearances in last Saturday’s 20-13 victory over Toulouse, lie only three appearances behind Reggie Corrigan’s record for the province.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

There are also places for the likes of Felipe Contepomi, who kicked ten points in the weekend win, and two-try hero Luke Fitzgerald.

Inspirational captain Brian O’Driscoll, who passed the half-century mark against Toulouse, is also included. Should second row Leo Cullen feature on Saturday, it would also mark the 50th cap for the Newtownmountkennedy man in the Heineken Cup.

LEINSTER Squad (v Leicester Tigers): Forwards (15) – Cian Healy, Ollie Le Roux, Ronan McCormack, Brian Blaney, Bernard Jackman, Stephen Knoop, Stan Wright, Leo Cullen, Trevor Hogan, Cameron Jowitt, Malcolm O’Kelly, Stephen Keogh, Keith Gleeson, Shane Jennings, Jamie Heaslip.

Backs (12) – Guy Easterby, Chris Keane, Felipe Contepomi, Jonathan Sexton, Luke Fitzgerald, Rob Kearney, Gordon D’Arcy, Christian Warner, Brian O’Driscoll, Gary Brown, Shane Horgan, Girvan Dempsey.