Jump to main content


Ulster Squad Confirmed For Ospreys Clash

Ulster Squad Confirmed For Ospreys Clash

Ulster caretaker coach Steve Williams has named an extended squad for Friday’s Heineken Cup Pool 2 clash with the Ospreys (Ravenhill, kick-off 8pm).

Williams, who will name his starting line-up on Thursday, said: “We need to look at making a few changes and injecting fresh legs into the team.”

Ulster scrum half Isaac Boss added: “We have an opportunity to redeem ourselves at Ravenhill next week, it is going to be tough but we have to get back on track and try to start putting the performances in.”

Included in the squad is Ballymena clubman Matt McCullough who, if selected this weekend, will gain his 100th cap for his province. Should he take to the field, the 26-year-old McCullough will be one of the youngest players to have reached the landmark 100 appearances for Ulster Rugby and join the elite club which includes names such as Gary Longwell, David Humphreys, Andy Ward and Simon Best.

McCullough won his first Ulster cap against Connacht in 2001 and since then has been a mainstay of the Ulster pack.

Despite being dogged by injury last season, McCullough still managed to make 18 appearances for Ulster and this Friday’s encounter against the Ospreys, where Ulster will be out to avenge their 48-17 thumping in Swansea last week, is likely to mark a milestone for the lock-cum-back rower.

Tickets are still available for the Ulster v Ospreys fixture on Friday. Tickets can be purchased online from www.UlsterRugby.com and the Ulster Rugby ticket line (tel: 028 9049 3222 (Option 2)) between 10-12 noon or alternatively from over the Ravenhill counter.

Tickets can also be bought from various ticket outlet shops across the province, including: In Sport – Newtownards; SS Moore’s – Belfast; Athletic Stores – Belfast; Eden Park – Belfast; Euro Sport – Lisburn; Shoe Fair Sports – Banbridge; Style N Sport – Ballymena; Vi-Sport – Belfast; David Gotto All Sports – Belfast; Overplay Sports – Carrickfergus; Douglas & Grahame Ltd – Belfast.

ULSTER Squad (v Ospreys): Backs (12) – Mark Bartholomeusz, Simon Danielli, Bryn Cunningham, Mark McCrea, Tommy Bowe, Andrew Trimble, Rob Dewey, Paul Steinmetz, Niall O’Connor, Paddy Wallace, Isaac Boss, Kieran Campbell.

Forwards (14) – Justin Fitzpatrick, Bryan Young, Declan Fitzpatrick, Tom Court, Matt Miles, Rory Best (capt), Nigel Brady, Justin Harrison, Ryan Caldwell, Carlo Del Fava, Matt McCullough, Neil Best, Kieron Dawson, David Pollock.