Jump to main content


Leinster Select Extended Squad For Toulouse Trip

Leinster Select Extended Squad For Toulouse Trip

Leinster coach Michael Cheika has confirmed a 27-man squad for the province’s Heineken Cup Pool 6 showdown with former champions Toulouse on Sunday (Stade Toulousain, kick-off 9pm local time).

Shane Horgan, Leinster’s try scorer in the 22-9 victory over Leicester Tigers last weekend, is just one Heineken Cup appearance short of equalling Reggie Corrigan’s Leinster record of 61 in the competition.

Horgan is one of 12 Ireland internationals in the Leinster squad to face the French outfit, alongside captain Brian O’Driscoll, Leo Cullen, Gordon D’Arcy, Girvan Dempsey, Luke Fitzgerald, Keith Gleeson, Jamie Heaslip, Bernard Jackman, Shane Jennings, Rob Kearney and Ireland’s most capped player, Malcolm O’Kelly.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Felipe Contepomi, who passed 300 career points in the competition with his 17-point haul during last weekend’s victory, has also been named in the squad alongside Michael Berne, Gary Brown and Stephen Knoop.

Both Brian Blaney and Rob Kearney could be in line for their 50th appearance in the province’s colours and the starting team and replacements will be announced on Friday afternoon.

LEINSTER Squad (v Toulouse): Forwards (14) – Ollie Le Roux, Stan Wright, Brian Blaney, Bernard Jackman, Juan Francisco Gomez, Stephen Knoop, Leo Cullen, Cameron Jowitt, Malcolm O’Kelly, Stephen Keogh, Kevin McLaughlin, Keith Gleeson, Shane Jennings, Jamie Heaslip.

Backs (13) – Chris Whitaker, Cillian Willis, Felipe Contepomi, Jonathan Sexton, Christian Warner, Michael Berne, Luke Fitzgerald, Rob Kearney, Gordon D’Arcy, Brian O’Driscoll (capt), Shane Horgan, Gary Brown, Girvan Dempsey.