Jump to main content


Leinster Make Four Changes For Connacht Clash

Leinster Make Four Changes For Connacht Clash

Leinster coach Michael Cheika has made four changes to his side for tomorrow night’s Magners League derby clash with Connacht (The RDS, kick-off 7.30pm).

Flanker Keith Gleeson returns to the Leinster side for the Interprovincial tussle and is one of four changes to the team that started last weekend’s 16-16 draw against Ulster at Ravenhill.

Luke Fitzgerald starts on the left wing in a back-line that includes Gordon D’Arcy, Shane Horgan, Girvan Dempsey and Brian O’Driscoll, who captains the side.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Christian Warner is given a chance to impress at out-half – the Australian partners his countryman Chris Whitaker at half-back, with Jonathan Sexton on the bench and Felipe Contepomi unavailable.

In the pack, Stan Wright comes into the front row after impressing as a replacement last week in place of Stephen Knoop, who picked up a knock.

Leo Cullen continues his second row partnership with Malcolm O’Kelly, while in the back row Stephen Keogh lines up alongside Jamie Heaslip and Gleeson.

At the RDS tomorrow, Leinster are hosting some ‘Family Day’ fun which kicks off at 6pm. There will be skills coaching and tests with prizes and a bouncy castle. Your children can even be players in a giant game of fussball.

The ‘Cubs Corner’ will be open at its new location near the new-look ‘Supporters Bar’ (Sand Arena). Here you will find face-painting and a special prize for the best fancy dress. Judging will take place all evening with the winner being announced at 7.15pm from the FM104 Roadhog, which will again be broadcasting around the RDS.

Tickets for tomorrow’s eagerly-awaited game can be purchased on the day from 5pm from Ticketmaster outlets on Anglesea Road and Simmonscourt Road, and both the Leinster Rugby Store and Spar in Donnybrook.

A special Family ticket, costing just 50 euro, is available for up to four people (maximum two adults). As there is open seating in the North and South Stand, these tickets can be combined with extra adult or child tickets if necessary.

LEINSTER (v Connacht): Girvan Dempsey; Shane Horgan, Brian O’Driscoll (capt), Gordon D’Arcy, Luke Fitzgerald; Christian Warner, Chris Whitaker; Ollie Le Roux, Bernard Jackman, Stan Wright, Leo Cullen, Malcolm O’Kelly, Stephen Keogh, Keith Gleeson, Jamie Heaslip.

Replacements: Brian Blaney, Juan Francisco Gomez, Cameron Jowitt, Shane Jennings, Cillian Willis, Jonathan Sexton, Rob Kearney.