Jump to main content


Ulster Squad Shows Two Changes For Glasgow Trip

Ulster Squad Shows Two Changes For Glasgow Trip

Ulster coach Mark McCall has named a virtually unchanged squad to travel to Glasgow for Friday’s Magners League clash at Firhill (kick-off 7.30pm). There are only two changes with scrum half Kieran Campbell and hooker Stuart Philpott both earning recalls.

McCall has kept the faith with players that launched a second half fightback against Leinster at Ravenhill last Friday, with only two changes to the line-up.

Kieran Campbell, who turned in a man of the match performance for Dungannon in the AIB League last Saturday, returns to the squad at the expense of Paul Marshall.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Meanwhile, hooker Nigel Brady drops out of the 22 with former Ireland Under-21 captain Stuart Philpott being included in the squad for the first time this season.

Ulster will be hoping for a big performance as a bonus point win could see them jump past Glasgow in the Magners League standings. Glasgow are currently seventh in the Magners League table and have not been beaten at Firhill this season.

The Ulstermen have won on their last two visits to Glasgow, including a 27-18 victory on their only previous appearance at Firhill in April 2006.

In injury news, flanker Neil McMillan picked up a knee injury at the weekend whEN playing for his club side Ballymena in the AIB League. He is undergoing a scan today to determine the exact injury.

ULSTER Squad (v Glasgow): Forwards (12) – Neil Best, Rory Best (capt), Stuart Philpott, Ryan Caldwell, Kieron Dawson, Carlo Del Fava, Stephen Ferris, Declan Fitzpatrick, Justin Fitzpatrick, Justin Harrison, Roger Wilson, Bryan Young.

Backs (10) – Mark Bartholomeusz, Isaac Boss, Tommy Bowe, Bryn Cunningham, Rob Dewey, David Humphreys, Kieran Campbell, Mark McCrea, Andrew Trimble, Paddy Wallace.