Jump to main content


Ulster Welcome Back World Cup Contingent

Ulster Welcome Back World Cup Contingent

Ulster coach Mark McCall has today named his 22-man squad for Friday’s Magners League meeting with Leinster (Ravenhill, kick-off 7.30pm), with Ulster’s starting line-up and replacements due to be confirmed on Thursday.

McCall welcomes back all of Ulster’s international players that were involved in the recent World Cup, apart from Ireland prop Simon Best who is having a period of rest following his health scare in France.

Included in the squad for the first time is Scottish international Rob Dewey who was part of the Scottish squad that reached the World Cup quarter-finals. Dewey signed for Ulster from Edinburgh in February on a two-year contract.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

David Humphreys is named in the squad after recovering from his ankle injury that sidelined him for the last number of weeks. Humphreys proved his fitness by playing for the Ulster “A” side against Leinster last Friday.

Also returning is lock Ryan Caldwell who has completed his three-match suspension following his red card against Edinburgh last month.

Back from World Cup duty is centre/winger Andrew Trimble. The Coleraine man is looking forward to playing for his province again and lining out against his Ireland team-mates.

Trimble said: “It will be great to run out at Ravenhill again and be back playing for Ulster against Leinster, our Interpro rivals. Playing against another province certainly adds an extra edge to a game.

“All the Irish guys know each other really well but I guess those friendships will have to be put to one side on Friday night. It is important that we get a good result in this game and get our Magners League campaign back on track.”

Friday’s encounter has been designated as an all-ticket affair with no tickets available at the gate on match night.

Tickets are available online from www.UlsterRugby.com and the Ulster Rugby ticket line (tel: 028 9049 3222 (Option 2)) or alternatively from over the Ravenhill counter.

Tickets can also be bought from various ticket outlet shops across the province, including – In Sport – Newtownards, SS Moore’s – Belfast, Athletic Stores – Belfast, Eden Park – Belfast, Euro Sport – Lisburn, Shoe Fair Sports – Banbridge, Style N Sport – Ballymena, Vi-Sport – Belfast, David Gotto All Sports – Belfast, Overplay Sports – Carrickfergus, Douglas & Grahame Ltd – Belfast.

ULSTER Squad (v Leinster): Forwards (12) – Neil Best, Rory Best (capt), Nigel Brady, Ryan Caldwell, Kieron Dawson, Carlo Del Fava, Stephen Ferris, Declan Fitzpatrick, Justin Fitzpatrick, Justin Harrison, Roger Wilson, Bryan Young.

Backs (10) – Mark Bartholomeusz, Isaac Boss, Tommy Bowe, Bryn Cunningham, Rob Dewey, David Humphreys, Paul Marshall, Mark McCrea, Andrew Trimble, Paddy Wallace.