Jump to main content


Wallace And Boss To Start For Ulster

Wallace And Boss To Start For Ulster

The Ireland internationals continue their return to Magners League action this week. Ulster have named Paddy Wallace and Isaac Boss as their starting half-backs for tomorrow’s clash with the Llanelli Scarlets at Stradey Park (kick-off 7.10pm).

Ulster coach Mark McCall today confirmed his starting line-up for tomorrow night’s encounter at Stradey Park. The side is bolstered with the inclusion of a number of international players returning from World Cup duty – Paddy Wallace and Isaac Boss will form the half-back partnership with young guns Niall O’Connor and Paul Marshall on the bench, while in the front row Bryan Young replaces Justin Fitzpatrick.

Italian lock Carlo Del Fava will make his first start in an Ulster jersey when he partners Justin Harrison in an all-international second row, while Stephen Ferris will be delighted to get some game-time and is named at number eight in place of Roger Wilson. Rory Best, who was the Ulster player that got most game-time for Ireland at the World Cup, is likely to be introduced off the bench tomorrow.

With Ulster’s new captain Best named amongst the replacements and his brother and vice-captain Simon sidelined having been diagnosed with an irregular heartbeat, Isaac Boss has been named as Ulster captain for the first time.

Commenting on the number 9’s new role, McCall said: “Isaac brings great energy to the team. We all know he will lead from the front and by example – he has the support of the entire squad.”

Ulster depart for Wales today and they will face a Llanelli side that are sitting second in the Magners League table and racked up 52 points against a weakened Leinster team last Friday at the RDS. The game will mark Ulster’s third away match in as many weeks and there is no doubt that the players will be looking to finish this period with the right result and a good performance before entertaining Leinster back at Ravenhill on Friday, October 26.

ULSTER: Bryn Cunningham; Mark Bartholomeusz, Tommy Bowe, Seamus Mallon, Simon Danielli; Paddy Wallace, Isaac Boss (capt); Bryan Young, Nigel Brady, Tom Court, Justin Harrison, Carlo Del Fava, Matt McCullough, Neil McMillan, Stephen Ferris.

Replacements: Rory Best, Justin Fitzpatrick, Tim Barker, Roger Wilson, Paul Marshall, Niall O’Connor, Mark McCrea.