Jump to main content


Arms Park Collapse Ends Leinster’s Title Tilt

Arms Park Collapse Ends Leinster’s Title Tilt

For the second year running, Leinster saw their title bid falter over the final weekend of the season. Seeking a bonus point win to claim the inaugural Magners League crown, Michael Cheika’s men disappointingly came up short in Cardiff.

MAGNERS LEAGUE: Friday, May 11

CARDIFF BLUES (13) 27 LEINSTER (6) 11, Arms Park (Att: 9,309)

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Scorers: Cardiff: Tries: Robin Sowden-Taylor, Gareth Williams, Rhys Williams, Marc Stcherbina; Cons: Nick Robinson 2; Pen: Ben Blair
Leinster: Try: Shane Horgan; Pens: Felipe Contepomi 2

TIME LINE: 6 minutes – Cardiff try: Robin Sowden-Taylor – 5-0; conversion: missed by Ben Blair – 5-0; 8 mins – Leinster penalty: Felipe Contepomi – 5-3; 18 mins – Cardiff penalty: Ben Blair – 8-3; 26 mins – Leinster penalty: Felipe Contepomi – 8-6; 31 mins – Cardiff penalty: Gareth Williams – 13-6; conversion: missed by Ben Blair – 13-6; Half-time – Cardiff 13 Leinster 6; 47 mins – Cardiff try: Rhys Williams – 18-6; conversion: Nick Robinson – 20-6; 50 mins – Cardiff try: Marc Stcherbina – 25-6; conversion: Nick Robinson – 27-6; 54 mins – Leinster try: Shane Horgan – 27-11; conversion: missed by Felipe Contepomi – 27-11; 57 mins – Leinster yellow card: Felipe Contepomi; Full-time – Cardiff 27 Leinster 11

Cardiff: Ben Blair; Rhys Williams, Jamie Robinson, Marc Stcherbina, Chris Czekaj; Nick Robinson, Mike Phillips; Gethin Jenkins, Gareth Williams, Gary Powell, Deiniol Jones, Robert Sidoli, Mark Lewis, Robin Sowden-Taylor, Xavier Rush (capt).

Replacements used: Scott Roberts for Jenkins, Tom James for R Williams (both 65 mins), Scott Morgan for Lewis, Nick Macleod for Blair (both 69), Rhys Thomas for G Williams, Rhys Shellard for Sowden-Taylor (both 73), Wayne Evans for Phillips (74).

Leinster: Girvan Dempsey; Rob Kearney, Gordon D’Arcy, Shane Horgan, Denis Hickie; Felipe Contepomi (capt), Chris Whitaker; Reggie Corrigan, Bernard Jackman, Will Green, Trevor Hogan, Malcolm O’Kelly, Stephen Keogh, Keith Gleeson, Jamie Heaslip.

Replacements used: Stan Wright for Corrigan, Guy Easterby for Whitaker (both half-time), Cameron Jowitt for Keogh, Christian Warner for Kearney (both 56), Owen Finegan for O’Kelly (63), Luke Fitzgerald for Dempsey (67). Not used: Brian Blaney.

Referee: Malcolm Changleng (Scotland)
Touch Judges: Phil Fear, Gwyn Morris (both Wales)