Jump to main content


Club News: Connacht Round-Up

Club News: Connacht Round-Up

…Westport Accept Fourth Irish Jersey…Galwegians To Celebrate Season In Style…Impressive Sligo Lift U-13 Cup Title…Castlebar Dish Out Annual Awards…OLBC Have Success In Skipton…

WESTPORT ACCEPT FOURTH IRISH JERSEY: Westport RFC have a fourth Irish jersey in their display cabinet at Carrowholly after young flanker Liam Carpenter’s recent outings for the Ireland Under-18 Club team.

Writing on the Rice College website, Carpenter spoke about his experiences in Dax, France last month with the Irish Under-18s, who were gallant runners-up to France in the FIRA-AER European Championship final.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

“The first match against Georgia, we won 27-0 against a very physical team. This meant a match against England in the semi-finals which we managed to win 10-7 in a very close fight,” Carpenter said.

“The final then took place just outside Biarritz in Dax, in front of a capacity crowd of 10,000. We lost 4-3 in a penalty kick shoot-out after France scored a last-minute try to tie the game at 8-8.

“Despite the disappointment, the Irish team were very successful and all who travelled to watch were treated to three outstanding performances,” added Carpenter, who helped Connacht to win the Youths Interprovincial championship for the first time this season.

GALWEGIANS TO CELEBRATE SEASON IN STYLE: Galwegians officials are hoping for sunshine this Saturday as the club celebrates the end of the season with a ‘club day’ at Crowley Park.

Every team in the ‘Wegians Youth Academy, as well as players from the Under-20s, 1st, 2nd and 3rd XVs and Women’s side, will be involved in the celebrations which will begin at 12.30pm with the senior players taking part in games with the Minis.

Former Wales hooker Paul Young, who has coached ‘Wegians seniors since 2005, has used his connections to arrange a friendly between ‘Wegians and Newport (kick-off 2.30pm).

At half-time in that match, there will presentations made to the Minis and after full-times there will be further presentations to teams from the U-13 level upwards.

With barbecue food and drinks from the bar available, it promises to be a very enjoyable day for all in attendance. The Galwegians RFC Yearbook for 2006/07 will also be available for sale on the day.

‘Wegians, who recently secured their AIB League Division One status for another year, had had great cup success at underage levels this year – with cup wins for the U-15s, U-16s, U-18s and U-20s.

The U-20s just edged out Connemara, winning 12-10, in last Saturday’s Connacht U-20 Cup final at the Sportsground.

IMPRESSIVE SLIGO LIFT U-13 CUP TITLE: Sligo RFC’s Under-13 team showed their undoubted class to beat Creggs 38-5 and lift the Connacht U-13 Cup title at the Sportsground last Sunday.

It was also history in the making for match referee Sinead Cosgrove, who became the first women ever to referee a Connacht Cup final at the Sportsground.

Creggs came into the game having shocked Galwegians in the semi-finals, but despite a first half wind advantage, it was Sligo who took a decisive 24-0 lead into the interval.

The Sligo pack excellent with second row Diarmuid O’Dowd-Hill turning in a man of the match display. He scored two tries and was a dominant force in the lineout and in the loose.

Tries from Michael Martin, O’Dowd-Hill, Enda Roche and Enda Gavin pushed Sligo into a 24-0 lead. Two more touchdowns followed in the second period from O’Dowd-Hill and James Mullen, while Creggs got over for a consolation try in the closing minutes.

The Davey twins, Matthew and Martin, the team’s joint captains, lifted the trophy afterwards to begin Sligo’s celebrations.

Sligo U-13: Jason McGoldrick; Enda Roche, Will Weaver, Owen Flanagan, James Mullen; Michael Martin, Enda Gavin; Philip Moriarity, Martin Davey (joint capt), Matthew Davey (joint capt), Diarmuid O’Dowd-Hill, Jonathan Draper, Ben Spellman, Sean Donnolly, Robert Smith.

Replacements: Gary O’Daly, Martin Clarke, Ross Gordon, Owen Kilroy, David Verdon, Brian Simon. Other Squad Members: Brian Casey, Barry Brennan, Jack Kennedy, Ciaran Blake, James Rooney.

CASTLEBAR DISH OUT ANNUAL AWARDS: Castlebar RFC held its Annual Dress Dance in the Paul Costello Suite of the Breaffy International Sports Hotel last Saturday night and Club President Trevor Ardill presented the following awards:

Clubman of the Year: Sheamus King
Player of the Year: Enda Murphy
Development Player Of the Year: Chris Rogan
Youths Player of the Year: Shane Casey

A special tribute was also paid to the club sponsors without whom the club could not be as successful off the field as it is on it. Tribute was paid to FSG, Bar One and Senator Windows for their work with a special mention for Shaws who came on board this year to sponsor Underage and Mini rugby at Castlebar RFC.

OLBC HAVE SUCCESS IN SKIPTON: Our Lady’s Boys’ Club rugby section completed a very successful tour to Skipton in Yorkshire last weekend.

Skipton RFC, recently promoted to League Division One in Yorkshire, hosted Boys Club as a return fixture from last year in Galway.

Coached by Frank O’Loughlin and managed by Mick Turley, Boys Club played two matches one on Saturday, and another on Sunday. Jet lag seemed to affect the Galway boys in Saturday’s game, and the hosts ran out easy winners after an even first 20 minutes.

Sunday’s game proved a different matter, and Boys Club controlled the game from the start, putting some unusual moves together, especially one “solo” effort from second row James McGarvey.

A try from winger Donagh O’Sullivan, who flew like a bird down the wing to score his first try for the club, sealed a deserved victory for the tourists.

Skipton RFC hosted a dinner for Boys Club on Saturday evening in their magnificent clubhouse, at which the organisers of the event were thanked, and momentos exchanged.

OLBC RFC especially thanked Tom Hayes of Skipton who ensured that any requests dealt with smoothly and efficiently.

OLBC Squad: Dermot Costello (capt), Liam Curran, Ken Loughrey, James McGarvey, Simon Lawless, Pete Small, James Moran, James Fahey, Gareth O’Loughlin, Peter McDonagh, Dara McDonagh, Killian O’Brien, Philip Coyle, Mervyn Grimes, Donagh O’Sullivan, Johnathon Curran, John McSweeney, Jason Molloy.