Jump to main content


Leaders Leinster Dig Deep For Welsh Win

Leaders Leinster Dig Deep For Welsh Win

Magners League leaders Leinster secured a controversial 23-22 victory at Rodney Parade on Friday, ending the Newport Gwent Dragons’ home record in the process.

MAGNERS LEAGUE: Saturday, April 14

NEWPORT GWENT DRAGONS 22 LEINSTER 23, Rodney Parade (Att: 5,442)

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Scorers: Dragons: Tries: Steve Jones, Adam Black 2; Cons: Ceri Sweeney, Aled Thomas; Pen: Ceri Sweeney
Leinster: Tries: Brian Blaney, Chris Whitaker; Cons: Felipe Contepomi 2; Pens: Felipe Contepomi 3

Ceri Sweeney opened the scoring with a penalty, and home hooker Steve Jones grabbed the first try after 15 minutes. But Leinster turned up the pressure before the break and were rewarded when Brian Blaney went over from close range.

Blaney later spent 10 minutes in the sin bin, time in which Adam Black crossed for the Dragons.

The Dragons suffered two such set-backs in the second half when Sweeney and Ian Gough were both sent to the sidelines.

Felipe Contepomi, who had missed a first-minute penalty, kicked Leinster into the lead before Chris Whitaker extended the visitors’ advantage with a try.

Black scored his second near the end but the Dragons ran out of time in their comeback bid.

TIME LINE: 13 minutes – Dragons penalty: Ceri Sweeney – 3-0; 15 mins – Dragons try: Steve Jones – 8-0; conversion: missed by Ceri Sweeney – 8-0; 27 mins – Leinster try: Brian Blaney – 8-5; conversion: Felipe Contepomi – 8-7; 33 mins – Dragons try; Adam Black – 13-7; conversion: Ceri Sweeney – 15-7; 40 mins – Leinster penalty: Felipe Contepomi – 15-10; Half-time – Dragons 15 Leinster 10; 58 mins – Leinster penalty: Felipe Contepomi – 15-13; 73 mins – Leinster penalty: Felipe Contepomi – 15-16; 78 mins – Leinster try: Chris Whitaker – 15-21; conversion: Felipe Contepomi – 15-23; 80 mins – Dragons try: Adam Black – 20-23; conversion: Aled Thomas – 22-23; Full-time – Dragons 22 Leinster 23

Dragons: Martyn Thomas; Gareth Wyatt, Paul Emerick, Nathan Brew, Aled Brew; Ceri Sweeney, Gareth Cooper; Adam Black, Steve Jones, Lee Harrison, Ian Gough, Luke Charteris, Colin Charvis, Jamie Ringer, Michael Owen (capt).

Replacements used: Rhys Thomas for Harrison (12 mins), Aled Thomas for M Thomas (57), Ben Daly for Jones (63), Peter Sidoli for Charteris (73), Joe Bearman for R Thomas (77). Not used: Richard Fussell, Alex Walker.

Leinster: Girvan Dempsey; Shane Horgan, Gordon D’Arcy, Rob Kearney, Denis Hickie; Felipe Contepomi (capt), Guy Easterby; Reggie Corrigan, Brian Blaney, Will Green, Trevor Hogan, Malcolm O’Kelly, Stephen Keogh, Keith Gleeson, Jamie Heaslip.

Replacements used: Harry Vermaas for Keogh (35-45 mins), Chris Whitaker for Easterby (38), Stan Wright for Corrigan (53), Owen Finegan for Hogan (66), Vermaas for Blaney (76), Luke Fitzgerald for Hickie (80), Kevin McLaughlin for Keogh (80+3). Not used: Kieran Lewis.

Sin Bin: Gough, Sweeney, Emerick (Dragons); Blaney (Leinster)
Referee: Malcolm Changleng (Scotland)