Jump to main content


Munster Miss Out In Swansea

Munster Miss Out In Swansea

Welsh international James Hook stole the show at the Liberty Stadium on Saturday evening as his 15-point contribution was crucial in the Ospreys’ Magners League defeat of Munster.

MAGNERS LEAGUE: Saturday, April 7

OSPREYS 20 MUNSTER 12, Liberty Stadium (Attendance: 9,295)

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Scorers: Ospreys: James Hook, Justin Marshall; Cons: James Hook 2; Pens: James Hook 2
Munster: Tries: Donnacha Ryan, Brian Carney; Con: Ronan O’Gara

The Ospreys kept up their challenge for the Magners League title despite suffering a double blow early on with both Andy Lloyd and Lyn Jones forced from the field with injuries. But the Welsh region rallied and Hook gave them the lead with the first try of the game which he also converted.

Munster bounced back from that set-back almost immediately with scrum half Tomas O’Leary exploiting a gap in the defence before feeding young lock Donnacha Ryan for a try.

Hook extended the home side’s advantage with a penalty on the half hour mark and he added another soon after Munster lock Donncha O’Callaghan was sin-binned for killing the ball. As a result Ospreys led 13-5 as the sides headed into the break.

Ospreys boss Lyn Jones introduced Adam Jones, Justin Marshall and Barry Williams in the second period in the hope of providing a spark after they had lost their way, and crucially the trio had the desired effect.

Marshall darted over for his side’s second try that Hook converted to give Ospreys a comfortable 15-point lead. With Ospreys down the 14 men due to the sin-binning of hooker, Williams the visitors had the last say with a breakaway try from winger Brian Carney – his second in as many league games – that was converted by Ronan O’Gara.

TIME LINE: 11 minutes – Ospreys try: James Hook – 5-0; conversion: James Hook – 7-0; 14 mins – Munster try: Jeremy Manning – 7-5; conversion: missed by Jeremy Manning – 7-5; 30 mins – Ospreys penalty: James Hook – 10-5; 38 mins – Munster sin-binning: Donnacha O’Callaghan; 39 mins – Ospreys penalty: James Hook – 13-5; Half-time – Ospreys 13 Munster 5; 67 mins – Ospreys try: Justin Marshall – 18-5; conversion: James Hook – 20-5; 80 mins – Munster try: Brian Carney – 20-10; conversion: Ronan O’Gara – 20-12; Full-time – Ospreys 20 Munster 12

Ospreys: Stefan Terblanche; Jonny Vaughton, Sonny Parker, Andrew Bishop, Shane Williams; James Hook, Jason Spice; Paul James (capt), Huw Bennett, Cai Griffiths, Brent Cockbain, Cai Griffiths, Brent Cockbain, Alun Wyn Jones, Andy Lloyd, Steve Tandy, Ryan Jones. Replacements used: Jonathan Thomas for Lloyd, Richard Pugh for Tandy (both 4 mins), Adam Jones for Griffiths (58), Barry Williams for Bennett, Justin Marshall for Spice (both 61), Nikki Walker for Vaughton (66), Bennett for Pugh (78-80). Not used: Shaun Connor.

Munster: Mossy Lawlor, Brian Carney, Barry Murphy, Lifeimi Mafi, Anthony Horgan; Jeremy Manning, Tomas O’Leary; Federico Pucciariello, Frankie Sheahan, Tony Buckley, Donncha O’Callaghan, Donnacha Ryan, Alan Quinlan, John O’Sullivan, Anthony Foley (capt).

Replacements used: Marcus Horan for Pucciariello, Ronan O’Gara for Manning (both 54 mins), Jerry Flannery for Sheahan, Keith Earls for Horgan (both 66). Not used: Shane O’Connor, James Coughlan, Brian O’Meara.

Sin Bin: Donnacha O’Callaghan (Munster) (38 mins), Barry Williams (Ospreys) (78)

Referee: David Changleng (Scotland)
Touch Judges: Jon Mason, Matthew Alpin (both Wales)