Jump to main content


Leinster Confirm Squad For Wasps Trip

Leinster Confirm Squad For Wasps Trip

Leinster coach Michael Cheika has added three players – Luke Fitzgerald, Reggie Corrigan and Devin Toner – to the matchday squad from last weekend’s win over Connacht, for Saturday’s Heineken Cup quarter-final clash with London Wasps.

As expected, Ireland captain Brian O’Driscoll will not be fit for the High Wycombe showdown (kick-off 5.45pm), having damaged his hamstring in the final Six Nations game against Italy.

But Leinster will travel across the Irish Sea with the benefit of 12 current Ireland internationals – Gordon D’Arcy, Girvan Dempsey, Guy Easterby, Luke Fitzgerald, Keith Gleeson, Jamie Heaslip, Denis Hickie, Trevor Hogan, Shane Horgan, Bernard Jackman, Kieran Lewis and Malcolm O’Kelly.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Argentinian star Felipe Contepomi, who has scored 63 points to date in this season’s Heineken Cup, is set to skipper the province as they bid to qualify for the competition’s semi-finals for the second successive year.

Cheika’s 25-man squad also includes English-born prop Will Green, who won the Heineken Cup with Wasps in 2004.

Leinster’s starting team and replacements will be confirmed tomorrow prior to their departure for London. In excess of 3,000 of the province’s fans are expected to make the trip across to Adams Park for the quarter-final.

Commenting on the opposition, Cheika said: “Wasps are a very determined outfit who will try to strangle you in defence and attack with equal intensity. They’re very much led by (Raphael) Ibanez who is a real spearhead for them (in attack).

“They have great experience in the competition and the Heineken Cup format is one that suits them because they know how to keep the ball and keep the ball away from you.

“Shaun Edwards is a very smart football coach. He’ll try to out-think us as well as out-play us, I’ve no doubt.”

LEINSTER SQUAD (v London Wasps) – Forwards (14): Fosi Pala’amo, Stanley Wright, Reggie Corrigan, Will Green, Bernard Jackman, Brian Blaney, Malcolm O’Kelly, Trevor Hogan, Owen Finegan, Cameron Jowitt, Devin Toner, Keith Gleeson, Stephen Keogh, Jamie Heaslip.

Backs (11): Chris Whitaker, Guy Easterby, Christian Warner, Felipe Contepomi (capt), Kieran Lewis, Luke Fitzgerald, Rob Kearney, Gordon D’Arcy, Shane Horgan, Denis Hickie, Girvan Dempsey.