Jump to main content


Quinlan Back In The Red Of Munster

Quinlan Back In The Red Of Munster

Alan Quinlan will make his return for Munster this afternoon, playing for the province’s ‘A’ team against Leinster ‘A’ in a clash at Portlaoise RFC (kick-off 2pm).

It is the Ireland flanker’s first game in Munster red since he received a six-week suspension for a stamping incident in December’s home Heineken Cup clash against Cardiff.

Quinlan gained some valuable match practice last Saturday, playing a full eighty minutes for Shannon in their 34-24 AIB Cup win over UCD at Belfield. He lined out in a back row that included his cousin David Quinlan.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The Munster ‘A’ squad for today’s midlands tie includes four other Shannon players – Tony Buckley, Sean Cronin, Donnacha Ryan and Mossie Lawlor.

Eoghan Hickey, who flung over an extra-time penalty to guided Garryowen into the AIB Cup semi-finals last weekend, is included, along with his club-mates Eugene McGovern, Chris Wyatt, Mark Melbourne, Conan Doyle and Ciaran O’Boyle, who all played in Garryowen’s 16-13 victory over St. Mary’s College last Saturday.

Meanwhile, Ireland scrum half Guy Easterby will captain a lively looking Leinster side in Portlaoise. The province’s back line includes Fionn Carr (Blackrock), Stephen Grissing (St. Mary’s), Fergus McFadden (UCD) and Jonathan Sexton (St. Mary’s) – four players who have been in excellent form for their clubs in the AIB League.

Portlaoise’s club grounds are located at Togher on the outskirts of the town.

LEINSTER ‘A’: Fionn Carr; Stephen Grissing, Michael Berne, Fergus McFadden, Gary Brown; Jonathan Sexton, Guy Easterby (capt); Ronan McCormack, Brian Blaney, Robert Sweeney, Devin Toner, Adam Byrnes, Richie Leyden, Diarmuid Laffan, Des Dillon.

Replacements: John Lyne, Harry Vermaas, Fosi Pala’amo, Cian Culleton, Alex Dunlop, James Power, Andrew Dunne, Cian McNaughton.

MUNSTER ‘A’ SQUAD: Eugene McGovern, Tony Buckley, Tim Ryan, Michael Essex, Sean Cronin, Shane O’Connor, Chris Wyatt, Mark Melbourne, Alan Quinlan, Tim McGann, Donnacha Ryan, James Coughlan, Mossie Lawlor, Conan Doyle, Denis Hurley, Tom Gleeson, Diogo Mateus, Ciaran O’Boyle, Eoghan Hickey, Jeremy Manning, AN Other, Chris Delooze.

Referee: George Clancy (IRFU)