Jump to main content


Ireland Squad Named For World Series Restart In Singapore

Ireland Squad Named For World Series Restart In Singapore

Ireland's Terry Kennedy in action during January's HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series tournament in Seville ©INPHO/Martin Seras Lima

A 13-player Ireland Men’s Sevens squad, sponsored by TritonLake, has arrived in Singapore for the resumption of the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series.

Head coach James Topping has selected an experienced panel, including eight Olympians, for the fifth leg of the 2022 Series at Singapore’s National Stadium this coming weekend (April 9-10).

Captain Billy Dardis, Jordan Conroy, Harry McNulty and Gavin Mullin all return to the squad having missed the back-to-back legs in Spain in January, while Chay Mullins – a member of the Ireland Under-20 Grand Slam-winning side – is in line for his World Series debut.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Joining Fiji, Japan and France in Pool D, Topping’s side open their campaign against Fiji in Singapore on Saturday morning at 10.22am local time/3.22am Irish time.

Currently sixth in the World Series standings, Ireland will be hoping to build momentum heading into the business end of the season, with the tournament in Singapore followed by the Canada Sevens in Vancouver the following week (April 16-17).

With September’s Rugby World Cup Sevens on the horizon, it is an important period ahead for the squad.

All matches on Saturday and Sunday will be live on the World Rugby stream, while there will be match updates across Irish Rugby social media channels and IrishRugby.ie.


Tamilore Awonusi (IQ Rugby)
Jordan Conroy (Buccaneers RFC)
Billy Dardis (Terenure College RFC) (capt)
Jack Kelly (Dublin University FC)
Terry Kennedy (St. Mary’s College RFC)
Steven Kilgallen (UCD RFC)
Hugo Lennox (Skerries RFC)
Matt McDonald (IQ Rugby)
Harry McNulty (UCD RFC)
Gavin Mullin (UCD RFC)
Chay Mullins (IQ Rugby)
Mark Roche (Lansdowne FC)
Andrew Smith (Clontarf FC/Leinster)

Ireland Men’s Sevens Schedule – Singapore Sevens:

Saturday, April 9:

Pool D –

  • Ireland v Fiji, 10.22am local time/3.22am Irish time
  • Ireland v Japan, 1.28pm local time/6.28am Irish time
  • Ireland v France, 4.44pm local time/9.44am Irish time

Sunday, April 10:

  • Play-Offs