Jump to main content


Bobbett Set For First Cap As Ireland Women’s Team Is Announced

Ireland line up for the anthems ahead of the Women's International against Scotland

Ireland line up for the anthems ©INPHO/Dan Sheridan

The Ireland Women’s team, sponsored by Aon, to face Wales in their November Test at the UCD Bowl (kick-off 1pm) has been confirmed. Sunday’s game will be streamed live on Irish Rugby channels.

Tickets for the Ireland v Wales Women’s clash this weekend are available from www.ticketmaster.ie, priced from €5, and will be available at the gate on the day.

Head coach Adam Griggs has named one uncapped player in the starting XV. Talented Leinster youngster Judy Bobbett will make her debut in the green jersey as she joins Nichola Fryday in the second row.

Fit-again hooker Cliodhna Moloney returns at hooker for her first international appearance since the 2018 Six Nations. She is flanked by props Laura Feely and Linda Djougang, while Anna Caplice, one of Ireland’s best performers during the 2019 Championship, features in the back row alongside captain Ciara Griffin and Edel McMahon.

Ballinasloe starlet Beibhinn Parsons will make her second start for Ireland – just a few weeks away from her 18th birthday. She joins Eimear Considine and Lauren Delany in an exciting back-three, with Sene Naoupu, Leinster’s Interprovincial title-winning captain, pairing up with Enya Breen in midfield.

Ireland Women v Wales Women

A year on from her international debut, Ellen Murphy will make her first start in the number 10 jersey after being back-up out-half throughout last season’s Six Nations. She will combine at half-back with Nicole Cronin, the livewire Munster scrum half.

The Ireland management could give debuts to four more new faces on the bench. Victoria Dabanovich-O’Mahony, Katie O’Dwyer, Niamh Ni Dhroma and Hannah O’Connor are all set to gain international honours on the back of helping Leinster to retain their Interprovincial crown earlier this season.

Speaking ahead of this weekend’s clash in Belfield, Griggs said:

Sunday is the first marker for our squad with an exciting and challenging season ahead. We have had some good training games and preparation so it’s now time to put that into action with a strong performance.

“This week sees a step up in intensity as is required from our players as they play this home Test match in front of friends, family and supporters.

“Our focus is starting off with a fast start and showing the progress that has been made over the last six weeks in camp. While it is great to have a core of experienced players, we know we will need the entire squad to step up show what they can do.”

IRELAND WOMEN’S Team & Replacements (v Wales Women, 2019 November International Match, UCD Bowl, Sunday, November 10, kick-off 1pm):

15. Eimear Considine (UL Bohemians/Munster)
14. Lauren Delany (Firwood Waterloo Ladies/IQ Rugby)
13. Enya Breen (UL Bohemians/Munster)
12. Sene Naoupu (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
11. Beibhinn Parsons (Ballinasloe/Connacht)
10. Ellen Murphy (Gloucester-Hartpury/IQ Rugby)
9. Nicole Cronin (UL Bohemians/Munster)
1. Laura Feely (Galwegians/Connacht)
2. Cliodhna Moloney (Wasps/IQ Rugby)
3. Linda Djougang (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
4. Nichola Fryday (Old Belvedere/Connacht)
5. Judy Bobbett (Blackrock/Leinster) *
6. Ciara Griffin (UL Bohemians/Munster) (capt)
7. Edel McMahon (Wasps/Connacht)
8. Anna Caplice (Harlequins/IQ Rugby)


16. Victoria Dabanovich-O’Mahony (Old Belvedere/Leinster) *
17. Katie O’Dwyer (Railway Union/Leinster) *
18. Anne-Marie O’Hora (Galwegians/Connacht)
19. Niamh Ni Dhroma (Old Belvedere/Leinster) *
20. Hannah O’Connor (Blackrock/Leinster) *
21. Kathryn Dane (Old Belvedere/Ulster)
22. Larissa Muldoon (Railway Union/Leinster)
23. Michelle Claffey (Blackrock/Leinster)