Jump to main content



Ireland Squad Update For Italy Week

Ireland’s Jordi Murphy Jack Conan Iain Henderson Tadhg Beirne and Rhys Ruddock Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Billy Stickland

Tadhg Beirne and Iain Henderson are both back in the Ireland squad for Round 3 of the Guinness Six Nations ©INPHO/Billy Stickland

A 34-man squad has been named by the Ireland coaching team for round 3 of the Guinness Six Nations Championship. Joe Schmidt’s men travel to Rome to play Italy in Stadio Olimpico this Sunday (kick-off 4pm local time/3pm Irish time).

After being taken off with a knee complaint early on in Munster’s win over the Southern Kings, Chris Farrell has been reviewed by the Ireland medical team and is fit to train today. Garry Ringrose and Rhys Ruddock will continue their respective hamstring rehab at Leinster this week.

Meanwhile, Will Addison has some lower back stiffness that is being managed at Ulster this week, and Iain Henderson and Tadhg Beirne, who were both named in the initial Six Nations squad, have joined the group at Carton House this week.

IRELAND Squad (2019 Guinness Six Nations Championship – Round 3 v Italy, Stadio Olimpico, Rome, Sunday, February 24):


Backs (16):

Bundee Aki (Galwegians/Connacht) 14
Caolin Blade (Galwegians/Connacht) *
Adam Byrne (UCD/Leinster) 1
Joey Carbery (Clontarf/Munster) 18
Jack Carty (Buccaneers/Connacht) *
Andrew Conway (Garryowen/Munster) 10
John Cooney (Terenure College/Ulster) 6
Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster) 74
Chris Farrell (Young Munster/Munster) 4
Tom Farrell (Coolmine/Connacht) *
Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Leinster) 37
Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster/) 88
Jordan Larmour (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 11
Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 69
Jonathan Sexton (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) (vice-capt) 80
Jacob Stockdale (Lurgan/Ulster) 16

Forwards (18):

Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) (capt) 115
Tadhg Beirne (Lansdowne/Munster) 4
Jack Conan (Old Belvedere/Leinster) 12
Sean Cronin (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 67
Ultan Dillane (Corinthians/Connacht) 12
Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster) 30
Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 86
Iain Henderson (Queen’s University/Ulster) 42
Dave Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster) 26
Jack McGrath (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 53
Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Ulster) 26
Sean O’Brien (UCD/Leinster) 54
Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) (vice-capt) 54
Quinn Roux (Galwegians/Connacht) 10
James Ryan (UCD/Leinster) 15
John Ryan (Cork Constitution/Munster) 16
Niall Scannell (Dolphin/Munster) 11
Josh van der Flier (UCD/Leinster) 15