Jump to main content


Murphy To Be Inducted Into Rugby Players Ireland Hall Of Fame

Murphy To Be Inducted Into Rugby Players Ireland Hall Of Fame

Rugby Players Ireland has today announced that Geordan Murphy will join a host of iconic Irish rugby heroes in the BNY Mellon Rugby Players Ireland Hall of Fame.

Voted for by the past-player body, Geordan Murphy joins the likes of Keith Wood (2004), Anthony Foley (2009) and Denis Hickie (2013) in an illustrious list of previous inductees. The award, which will be presented at the Rugby Players Ireland Awards night on Wednesday at the Clayton Hotel on the Burlington Road, was last year won by Ronan O’Gara.

A legend of the Leicester Tigers club in England, Murphy also enjoyed a distinguished career in the green of Ireland, amassing 74 caps over an eleven-year period. During this time, he played a part in the Grand Slam success of 2009, while he also travelled with the British & Irish Lions to New Zealand in 2005.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The Kildare man is now assistant coach at Leicester where he is highly regarded for 20 years of service that has included pivotal roles in two European Cup successes, an array of victorious Premiership campaigns and a spell as club captain. He is the most decorated player in the club’s history.

Upon hearing of his induction, Murphy said: “It is a great honour and privilege for me to be recognised by the rugby community in Ireland. While I have spent the majority of my career abroad, my home has always been very special to me. I always enjoyed returning to Lansdowne Road and lining out alongside many of those who I now join in the Hall of Fame. I will always treasure those memories.”

Simon Keogh, acting CEO at Rugby Players Ireland, highlighted that Murphy will be remembered as one of the finest full-backs in Irish rugby history.

“Geordan was a mercurial talent who was ahead of his time. Not many players have worn the green shirt and excited the fans so much for so long,” said Keogh. “Fewer still have left the country and represented us with such distinction. I have no doubt that he will continue to play a significant role in the rugby world going forward.”


Geordan Murphy (2017)
Ronan O’Gara (2016)
David Wallace (2015)
Simon Best (2014)
Denis Hickey (2013)
John Hayes (2012)
Malcolm O’Kelly (2011)
Girvan Dempsey (2010)
Anthony Foley (2009)
David Humphreys (2008)
Victor Costello (2007)
Jeremy Davidson (2006)
Eric Elwood (2005)
Keith Wood, Paddy Johns (2004)
Mick Galwey, Peter Clohessy (2003)