Jump to main content


PWC logo

Three Changes Made To Ireland U-20 Team

Three Changes Made To Ireland U-20 Team

Ireland Under-20 head coach Mike Ruddock has made three changes to the team, sponsored by PwC, for Saturday’s Six Nations duel with England at Franklin’s Gardens (kick-off 6.15pm).

Centre Dan Goggin is promoted from the bench and replaces Garry Ringrose, while Adam Byrne comes in for Ian Fitzpatrick on the left wing.

Injury has forced the withdrawal of Jack O’Donoghue who is replaced at number 8 by Frankie Taggart, with Michael Triggs coming onto the bench to provide back row cover.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The only other change to the matchday 23 sees Harrison Brewer added to the bench as one of the reserve backs.

Sean O’Brien has recovered from the injury he sustained early on in the game against the Welsh to resume his second row partnership with Ross Molony.

The Ireland Under-20s face an English outfit that has also recorded a win and a loss in the opening two rounds of the Championship. The round 3 game kicks off at 6.15pm in Northampton and will be broadcast live on Sky Sports 2.

Mike Ruddock commented: “There were some harsh lessons learned last time out against the Welsh and the team will have to dig deep and find a quality performance this weekend to get a result against a strong English team.

“There is plenty of character and experience within this squad and that should stand to them come Saturday.”

IRELAND UNDER-20 Team & Replacements (v England Under-20s, 2014 RBS Under-20 6 Nations Championship, Franklin’s Gardens, Saturday, February 22, kick-off 6.15pm):

Player/Club/Province –

15. David Busby (Queen’s University/Ulster)
14. Cian Kelleher (Lansdowne/Leinster)
13. Dan Goggin (Young Munster/Munster)
12. Peter Robb (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
11. Adam Byrne (UCD/Leinster)
10. Ross Byrne (UCD/Leinster)
9. Nick McCarthy (UCD/Leinster)
1. Peter Dooley (Lansdowne/Leinster)
2. Max Abbott (Cork Constitution/Munster)
3. Rory Burke (Cork Constitution/Munster)
4. Sean O’Brien (Galwegians/Connacht)
5. Ross Molony (UCD/Leinster)
6. Peadar Timmins (UCD/Leinster)
7. Dan Leavy (UCD/Leinster) (capt)
8. Frankie Taggart (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)


16. Sean McNulty (UCD/Munster)
17. Denis Coulson (Lansdowne/Leinster)
18. Oisin Heffernan (Lansdowne/Leinster)
19. Joe Joyce (Bristol/Exiles)
20. Michael Triggs (Lansdowne/Leinster)
21. Jack Cullen (Bruff/Munster)
22. Conor McKeon (Lansdowne/Leinster)
23. Harrison Brewer (Terenure College/Leinster)


IRELAND Under-20s 34 Scotland Under-20s 7
Dubarry Park
Friday, January 31

IRELAND Under-20s 0 Wales Under-20s 16
Dubarry Park
Friday, February 7

England Under-20s v IRELAND Under-20s
Franklin’s Gardens, Northampton, 6.15pm
Saturday, February 22

IRELAND Under-20s v Italy Under-20s
Dubarry Park, 7.05pm
Friday, March 7

France Under-20s v IRELAND Under-20s
Stade Maurice Trélut, Tarbes, 8.55pm local time/7.55pm Irish time
Friday, March 14