Jump to main content


Kearney Wins IRUPA Players Award

Kearney Wins IRUPA Players Award

Leinster and Ireland star Rob Kearney, was last night voted the IRUPA Players’ Player of the Year by his fellow players at the tentth IRUPA Rugby Players Awards at the Burlington Hotel in Dublin.

Rob Kearney’s brave and consistent performances for province and country have made him a worthy and popular winner. The talented full-back also walked away with the Newstalk Supporters’ Players of the Year for 2012.

Munster’s Peter O’Mahony was also among those recognised when he was awarded the IRUPA Nature Valley Young Player of the Year.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Rob was delighted to receive the award, saying: “This is the first time I’ve received this award which has been voted for by my peers and I am overwhelmed to be honest that the other players in Ireland have chosen me.”

As well as the honour of Player of the Year, Rob and all the winners receive an inscribed TW Steel watch kindly provided by Fields Jewellers.

Twice nominated Craig Gilroy of Ulster picked up the IRUPA Volkswagen Try of the Year for his amazing effort against Munster in the recent Heineken Cup quarter-final.

Leinster’s Kevin McLaughlin collected the IRUPA O2 Unsung Hero award, voted for the first time by the public.

Joining Ireland’s heroes in the IRUPA Hall of Fame was Munster legend John Hayes.

Hayes’ long-time provincial colleague Mick O’Driscoll, who recently announced his retirement from rugby, was awarded the inaugural IRUPA Hibernia College Medal for Excellence which rewards on field effort combined with off-field commitment to the game.

Nominees were voted by their peers but were also judged on their contribution to the sport through community involvement, education, work and charitable initiatives.

Omar Hassanein, CEO of IRUPA, said: “Winning an IRUPA award is the highest honour a player can receive. Those players can take great satisfaction from the fact that they have the total respect of those who they play with and

“Congratulations to all those nominated and in particular to Rob, Peter, Craig, Kevin, Mick and of course John in winning what are the most sought after awards in Irish rugby.”