Jump to main content


Ireland U-18 Women’s Squad Selected For European Sevens

Ireland U-18 Women’s Squad Selected For European Sevens

Ireland U-18 Women’s Squad Selected For European Sevens

Ballinasloe and Connacht starlet Beibhinn Parsons was involved with the Ireland 15s and Sevens senior teams last season ©INPHO/Morgan Treacy

Twelve players have been named in the Ireland Under-18 Sevens squad to compete in the Rugby Europe U-18 Women’s Sevens Championship in Jarocin, Poland this weekend.

Enniskillen’s India Daley will make her first appearance in a side which will be captained by Ballinasloe flyer Beibhinn Parsons. Kate Farrell McCabe of Gorey has been included as a member of the senior squad and commenced training with them last week.

The Ireland U-18 team has been assisted during camps and the recent Home Nations Sevens tournament by Ireland Sevens international player Katie Fitzhenry, and the half-backs have worked under the direction of senior scrum half Stacey Flood.

This is the final competition for the Ireland U-18 Sevens squad this season and forms part of the Women’s Sevens Development pathway for this group.

Speaking ahead of the tournament, Anthony Eddy, IRFU Director of Women’s and Sevens Rugby, said: “The squad has had good preparation for this weekend, having been exposed to quality tournaments and the physical and mental demands of a Sevens tournament.”

Third-place finishers in the Home Nations competition, Ireland have been drawn in Pool C for this weekend and will play Georgia, Latvia and Celtic rivals Scotland. Live streaming is available on www.rugbyeurope.tv.

IRELAND UNDER-18 WOMEN’S SEVENS Squad (2019 Rugby Europe Under-18 Women’s Sevens Championship, Stadion Jarocin Sport, Jarocin, Poland, Saturday, August 31-Sunday, September 1):

Grace Browne Moran (Westport/Connacht)
Beibhinn Parsons (Ballinasloe/Connacht) (capt)
Ava Ryder (Westport/Connacht)
Leah Reilly (Navan/Leinster)
Kate Farrell McCabe (Gorey/Leinster)
Caoimhe O’Callaghan (Dundalk/Leinster)
Amanda McQuade (Virginia/Ulster)
Mya Alcorn (Letterkenny/Ulster)
Lucy Turkington (Dungannon/Ulster)
India Daley (Enniskillen/Ulster)
Méabh McElligott (Listowel/Munster)
Chisom Ugwueru (Ennis/Munster)

Ireland U-18 Sevens Management –

Head Coach: Ben Martin
Assistant Coach: Stan McDowell
Manager: Eimear Flannery

2019 Rugby Europe U-18 Women’s Sevens – Ireland Fixtures:

Saturday, August 31:

Pool C:

Ireland v Georgia, Stadion Jarocin Sport, Jarocin, 11.28am local time/10.28am Irish time
Ireland v Latvia, Stadion Jarocin Sport, Jarocin, 3.08pm local time/2.08pm Irish time
Ireland v Scotland, Stadion Jarocin Sport, Jarocin, 6.26pm local time/5.26pm Irish time

Sunday, September 1:

Play-Offs & Finals