Jump to main content


2019 IRFU U18 Women’s Interprovincial 7s: Day 1

2019 IRFU U18 Women’s Interprovincial 7s: Day 1

Women's Under 18 Interprovincial, MU Barnhall, Leixlip, Co. Kildare 15/9/2018 Munster vs Ulster Munster's Maebh McElligot Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Laszlo Geczo

55 Players from 30 clubs were in action on the first day of the 2019 IRFU U18 Women’s Interprovincial 7s Series. All four provinces played each other once with a second day of action to come on Sunday April 28th in Mullingar RFC.

Each province got a result on a day where players were given the chance to develop their skills and pit themselves against some of the brightest talent of their age grade.

A number of players on show were familiar with the Barnhall venue, having competed there in the final round of the U18 Women’s Interprovincial 15s in 2018.

Connacht won that competition and brought a 7s squad which included winning captain Emily Gavin,

Grace Brown Moran, Hannah Gullane, Ava Ryder, Katie Hogan and senior Ireland international Beibhinn Parsons.

Munster brought five of their 15s squad: Marliese Flynn, Jennifer Fogarty, Meabh McElligot, Sarah Murphy and Faye Dowling.

Ulster’s India Daley scored in a 31-5 win against Munster on the same pitch in that competition and was back along  with Zara Flack, Sophie Kinghan, Amanda McQuade, Zoe Rafferty and Emma Ryan.

Out half Ava Jenkins was among a quintet of Leinster players to return to Barnhall as a 7s player along with Ellie Meade, Ivanna Dempsey, Kate Farrell and Caoimhe O’Callaghan.

Ireland Senior Head Coach Adam Griggs took the opportunity to cast his eye over the talent on show. “It’s a step up from their club rugby and a step up from the training they’ve done before,” he said. “When you get a good group of players like this together, it helps them to progress.

“We’ve got Beibhinn Parsons at 17 years old and Enya Breen at 19 in the senior squad right now so these players aren’t too far away. For us it’s about seeing the talent, nurturing it and getting players on the path to becoming world class internationals.”

MU Barnhall, Parsonstown, Co. Kildare, Sunday April 14th

Day 1 Results:

Ulster 17 Leinster 10

Connacht 24 Munster 24

Ulster 17 Connacht 7

Leinster 32 Munster 7

Leinster 22 Connacht 17

Munster 17 Ulster 10

Ulster: Zara Flack (Enniskillen), Mya Alcorn (Letterkenny), India Daley (Enniskillen), Sara Shrestha (Dungannon), Zoe Rafferty (City Of Armagh), Jenna Corkey (City Of Armagh) Sophie Kinghan (Ardee), Emma Ryan (Virginia), Amanda McQuade (Virginia), Lucy Thompson (Enniskillen), Catherine Graham (Enniskillen), Katie Elliott (Enniskillen), Megan Drummond (Donaghadee), Bree Moffett (Malone)

Leinster: Ellie Meade (Dundalk), Ivanna Dempsey (Naas), Erin King (Naas), Katie Whealan (Enniscorthy) Ava Jenkins (Mullingar), Emma Kelly (Tullamore), Caoimhe O’Callaghan (Dundalk), Katie Ann O’Neill (Naas), Kate Farrell (Gorey), Lily Marron (Bisto), Lauren Patterson (North Meath), Orla Hayes (Westmanstown) Vicky Kinlan (Wicklow).

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Munster: Sarah Murphy (Kanturk), Erika Kiely (Carrick On Suir), Faye Dowling (Fethard), Jennifer Fogarty (Fethard), Aoibheann O’Loughlan (Ennis), Emma Connolly (Skibbereen), Courney Duhig (St. Mary’s) Alana McInerney (Ennis), Marliese Flynn (Carrick On Suir), Meave McElligott (Listowel), Vivienne O’Donovan (Skibbereen), Chisom Ugweru (Ennis), Mary Kate Reidy (Listowel), Abbie Slater Townsend (Skibbereen).

Connacht: Grace Brown Moran (Westport), Emily Gavin (Ballinasloe), Leanne Barnicle (Westport), Nina McVann (Ballina), Avril Deely (Ballinasloe), Emer Cafferkey (Westport), Beibhinn Parsons (Ballinasloe), Ava Ryder (Westport), Aisling Browne (Ballina), Hannah Gullane (Ballinasloe), Katie Hogan (Westport), Ivana Kiprati (Buccaneers), Leona Larkin (Ballinasloe), Victoria Lee (Tuam).